Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 01-07-2012, 09:37 AM   #1
ravenhaller

Any reviews on the LTD Viper 256P?

I've been looking at getting Tribute series Gibson SG or some other $500 - $800 mahogany+p90 equipped guitar, but just spotted the Viper 256P. Are LTD's good guitars? I can't lie - I'm a Fender Strat man through and through, but for recording it'd be damn handy to have something Gibson-ish for darker tonal interplay.

In a previous life I was a bottom-of-the-food-chain producer and saw a lot of guys bring in LTDs for session work, but never really gave one a good look over as I generally stereotype them as a metalhead's guitar - the Viper 256P is kinda exactly what i'm after though.

I'm not expecting flawless perfection for $400, but how would it compare to an Epiphone SG or lower end Gibson equivalent?
ravenhaller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2012, 03:28 PM   #2
Any7423

Don't know if it's the same model, but Phil X uses an ESP Viper
Any7423 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2012, 11:06 PM   #3
ravenhaller

Nobody has a Viper 256P yet?
Old 01-08-2012, 11:50 PM   #4
larson8er

just get an Epi G400
Great bang for the buck build quality-wise.
they pretty much have to have a pickup swap done.

so if you pick up a goth series (if you don't mind the flat black) and throw your choice of p/ups in it, you have a better rig for around 375-400$

Quote:
Originally Posted by guitarxo
I hope you get raped by a bayonet

Quote:
Originally Posted by beckyjc
Roland Cube / Vox Valvetronix / Peavey Vypyr / Hitler > Line 6 Spider.
larson8er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2012, 12:29 AM   #5
Wisthekiller
UG's Nigel Tufnel

You want something Gibson-ish and darker, so you pick the lightest and thinnest Gibson plus single coils (I know they're P90s, but that's still single coil)?

Upright fretted electric bass build!
Wisthekiller is offline   Reply With Quote