Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old Yesterday, 01:03 PM   #1
ls2014
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Why does my audio interface make a white noise?

I had a guitar cable that came with the videogame Rocksmith 2014 which I used to practice with headphones on. I bought a Presonus Audiobox USB audio interface to record with but whenever I add distortion I get a white noise in the background. This never happened with the Rocksmith cable. People said that I needed an external power source so I bought a powered USB hub but still no luck.
ls2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:24 PM   #2
Spambot_2
UG's redhead
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
Did you use the same program to add distortion to your guitar, both when using the rocksmith cable and the audiobox?

Also the thing can't receive power from external source, it's bus powered.
Connect it directly to your computer, no hubs, hubs aren't good for that stuff.

A/B the thing with the tone cable and then see what the differences are.
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 03:43 PM   #3
ls2014
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spambot_2
Did you use the same program to add distortion to your guitar, both when using the rocksmith cable and the audiobox?

Also the thing can't receive power from external source, it's bus powered.
Connect it directly to your computer, no hubs, hubs aren't good for that stuff.

A/B the thing with the tone cable and then see what the differences are.

Yes with the same exact preset. I only plugged it in to the USB hub after someone recommended it, the problem originally occurred when it was plugged directly into my Mac.
ls2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 04:52 PM   #4
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
What's your monitor situation? What's everything plugged into?

I used to get awful noise until I bought a power conditioner for my desk which cleared everything up right away. You probably just have noisy dirty electricity and it's becoming apparent now that you're starting to use relatively higher-end equipment.
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:59 PM   #5
ls2014
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sid McCall
What's your monitor situation? What's everything plugged into?

I used to get awful noise until I bought a power conditioner for my desk which cleared everything up right away. You probably just have noisy dirty electricity and it's becoming apparent now that you're starting to use relatively higher-end equipment.

My Mac is connected to a 6 port power strip. Could that be the problem?
ls2014 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:01 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.