Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Bandleading
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 04-02-2012, 05:29 AM   #1
guitar_mad_ali
COBHC

How much preperation do you put into live performance stage prescence

My band have been gigging regularly the past year and now we're doing our first small tour so stage prescence and our attitude is more important than ever.

For some stupid reason I studied a Popular Music BTEC (english qualification, 18-19yrs) and they showed us things like planning moves on stage and ques for the other band members to say "Im going to come across to this side of the stage" and blanacing the stage.

I've never discussed this with the band, I think they'd be open to try it I'm just not sure if it'd stick. Does anyone here have these kinds of routines, real planned out stage choreography? Do you know anywhere I could find resources that would help plan these out?
Thanks UG!
guitar_mad_ali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 05:50 AM   #2
shreddymcshred

If you don't practice like you will perform, you are cheating yourselves out of the comfort of knowing what to do. There's something to be said about spontaneity, but this could end in disaster.

If you have your old books or notes from that course, you should start there. I don't have any other sources for you, but I do believe you have a good idea.
shreddymcshred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 11:29 AM   #3
TNA

Unless you are the Backstreet Boys I don't think you'll be choreographing your performance. People run around and do stuff on stage because they are up on a stage and they are pumped up. Of course there's certain songs where you will usually do the same move or whatever. There are several well known bands that have bad stage presence. As long as the singer is moving that's good enough, everyone else is icing on the cake as far as I'm concerned.
TNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2012, 12:50 PM   #4
scguitarking927