Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 06-24-2012, 08:35 AM   #21
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slapp62
can you cover the lexicon lambda?


If I thought it was worth covering it would be on there, truth is I've not heard good things. I've got to limit what I write to what I've experience or what I've heard from sources I trust.

The best I've heard, is "meh, it's okay". But I may look into it and see what I can find.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2012, 05:04 PM   #22
wrzkace13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thanks for the heads up on the interface's
wrzkace13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 11:34 AM   #23
jpatan
UG's only REAL Llama
 
jpatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Planet Urf
I recently picked up a copy of Reason 6.5, and I'm getting a pretty good amount of latency when I rewire it into Reaper. I get practically zero latency when I use either program alone, but when I rewire it seems like I'm hitting close to 200ms, which makes it pretty much unuseable.

After reading through the manuals, it seems that my interface may be the culprit. Like it isn't capable of handling that much data at once or something.

I'm using a Boss BR-800 multi track recorder as an interface. The drivers are up to date, and I'm using the ASIO setting in reaper. I bought the BR-800 for recording outside of home plus the ability to use it as an interface, but the reality is that it hasn't left my house once.

I could probably sell the BR-800 and get at least $300-350 with the condition it's in (mint), and the upgraded memory card I put in it. I was looking at the Propellerhead "Balance" interface, but it's awfully expensive ($450), and only comes bundled with Reason essentials... which I don't need... but I COULD also sell the software license and end up breaking about even. I really like the way you can plug multiple instruments / mics into the back, and select which input you want on the front panel. I have 2 mics and 2 instrument cables that I use pretty frequently, and would prefer to not have to constantly swap them around. I guess a 4 I/O interface would also work, but I don't really need all 4 at once.

TL;DR - Anyone know of any good USB interfaces that have switchable inputs, 2 I/O, that are around $300 or less?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
He's obviously pretty young, and I'd guess he's being raised by wolves, or at least humans with the intellectual capacity and compassion of wolves.


You finally made it home, draped in the flag that you fell for.
And so it goes
jpatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 12:00 PM   #24
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
Although the BR800 can be used as an interface, that isn't it's prime function.

Have you considered switching to a Zoom R8/16/24? The 8 only has 2 interfaces, but the 16 & 24 both have 8 interfaces and because it's designed to be used as an interface that should remove any latency issues - I've read loads of reviews on it and don't remember that being mentioned as a problem.

It uses USB to connect to your software DAW, it has the inputs you need, it's within your budget and you'd still have the option of portable recording should you need it in the future.
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus, Midtown Custom
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 12:50 PM   #25
jpatan
UG's only REAL Llama
 
jpatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Planet Urf
I'd actually like to ditch the external recorder. I've only ever used it as an interface to record in Reaper, which it does fine as long as I don't also rewire Reason (which I'll pretty much be doing all the time).

Is it possible that my latency is MIDI related? When I program a MIDI item within reaper, it plays the Reason virtual instrument with no latency. When I use my MIDI keyboard (which is plugged into the PC, not the interface) I get latency. But again, only when I rewire. Doesn't seem like it should matter, but

The manual for Reason is pretty clear on latency. Basically if you get it when rewiring, you have one of the following:

1- slow computer - not the case
2- Bad ASIO drivers / settings - also not likely
3- Host program unable to handle it - youtube videos prove reaper can handle Reason without issue
4- Interface - Seems the most likely thing to me, considering that my interface isn't exactly a "real" interface... it's a recorder with interface function.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
He's obviously pretty young, and I'd guess he's being raised by wolves, or at least humans with the intellectual capacity and compassion of wolves.


You finally made it home, draped in the flag that you fell for.
And so it goes
jpatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 01:17 PM   #26
GaryBillington
Grumpier than normal.
 
GaryBillington's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Trow Vegas
From the potential issues you listed it seems like the most probable issue would be the BR800 as it isn't a dedicated interface, BUT (I'm about to enter territory I'm not familiar with here, so this could be a lack of knowledge) from what you said in the rest of your post it sounds like you're only getting the latency when you aren't using the interface so surely the problem must be elsewhere?
__________________
.
Gibson LP Studio x2, SG Special Plus, Midtown Custom
Barber Tone Press > EHX Worm > TC Polytune > MXR Custom Badass 78 > EXH Glove > EHX East River Drive > Zoom G3 > TC Spark Mini Booster
Laney VC30 210 + GS112VE cab
Jet City JCA22H
GaryBillington is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2012, 01:32 PM   #27
jpatan
UG's only REAL Llama
 
jpatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Planet Urf
No, I'm using the interface all the time. Any recordings I do through it directly into reaper are fine, and any MIDI keys playing through Reason alone is basically latency free... It's only when I rewire Reason into the DAW that I get bad latency. And both programs are set to use the BR-800 as the ASIO device.

Basically I have to start a project in Reason, and get most of it patterned out... drums, virtual bass, any ambient synthy stuff. Just kinda figure out what I want to do with it. Then I have to open my rewire template and import all the midi so it plays the VSTi's in reaper. But once I get to this stage, I really can't play anything through reason real time due to the latency. Sometimes it feels like I'm nearly half a second behind the key press.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
He's obviously pretty young, and I'd guess he's being raised by wolves, or at least humans with the intellectual capacity and compassion of wolves.


You finally made it home, draped in the flag that you fell for.
And so it goes
jpatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 01:58 PM   #28
Duncan Gibbons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
i know you said avoid the adapter, but how would i make it work? i just want to test my guitar with that and then i will buy a amp
PPLS help i cant get any real sound
Duncan Gibbons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2012, 07:05 PM   #29
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duncan Gibbons
i know you said avoid the adapter, but how would i make it work? i just want to test my guitar with that and then i will buy a amp
PPLS help i cant get any real sound


Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
Normally people only get this to work through hard work and luck, neither of which we can teach you.


Sorry man, I can't tell you that, simply because I don't know. I don't see how people get it to work save some kind of miracle.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 12:49 AM   #30
jpatan
UG's only REAL Llama
 
jpatan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Planet Urf
The only way I ever got an adapter to work was by getting one to step the 1/4" instrument cable jack down to the 1/8" mic or aux input on the soundcard. Your results will vary depending on how good your soundcard and PC are.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
He's obviously pretty young, and I'd guess he's being raised by wolves, or at least humans with the intellectual capacity and compassion of wolves.


You finally made it home, draped in the flag that you fell for.
And so it goes
jpatan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 06:21 AM   #31
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duncan Gibbons
i know you said avoid the adapter, but how would i make it work? i just want to test my guitar with that and then i will buy a amp
PPLS help i cant get any real sound


You have to buy a mixer to go inbetween. The guitar straight by itself will kill your mic in port. With a mixer before it, you can lower the volume and fix some of the signal.

Though, honestly, its a waste of money and it doesn't sound good and we aren't going to help you if you break your computer.
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2012, 01:41 PM   #32
Duncan Gibbons
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
ok thanks, then ill save for the guitar link or behringer ucg102
Duncan Gibbons is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2012, 05:08 PM   #33
danmetal2012
Registered User
 
danmetal2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hey, will this thing do the trick?
http://www.gak.co.uk/en/yamaha-audi...ubase-ai4/31486
I dont intend to use the copy of cubase it comes with so it doesnt make the deal any better, but theres some going on ebay pretty cheap, will it actualy make any difference compared to that behringer ucg102?
danmetal2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2012, 03:08 PM   #34
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Added a section about DAW's written by Lockwolf.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:51 PM   #35
Edward1892
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
http://www.thomann.de/gb/maudio_ess...ding_studio.htm

I want to buy this recording interface, does anyone know if it is a decent quality one?

Thanks!
Edward1892 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 06:58 PM   #36
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
They get a pretty mixed rep around here, but I do hear there are a few problems with it.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2012, 09:15 PM   #37
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
I wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole. Low end M-Audio is pretty bad
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2012, 12:47 PM   #38
DardoBoy
UG Newbie
 
DardoBoy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Milwaukee
Now what are your recommendations for making more electronic music?
DardoBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:47 PM   #39
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by DardoBoy
Now what are your recommendations for making more electronic music?


In what sense? You don't need an interface if you just want to program midi.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2012, 08:58 PM   #40
oneblackened
Future Breed Machine
 
oneblackened's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Asgaard
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
I wouldn't touch it with a 10 foot pole. Low end M-Audio is pretty bad

It really, really is.
Low end M-Audio stuff is really pretty awful. Seriously, the only decent stuff in that range is Presonus and Focusrite stuff.
__________________
Current Gear:
LTD MH-400 (SD Distortion/59)
Ibanez S970 (Dimarzio Evos)
Charvel San Dimas Style 1 (MIJ) (JB/59)
Peavey 5150 II head (JJ tubes)
oneblackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:38 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.