Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 07-29-2012, 04:06 PM   #1
GARAGE HERMIT

hacking old valve/tube radio into guitar amp,question's,

just bought this EVEREADY SKY QUEEN valve/tube radio, would like to turn it into a guitar amp, where do i start, i'm a complete newbie at this so any help woud be appreciated,

GARAGE HERMIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:26 PM   #2
Culler Amps
Matt Culler

1. Do you have any experience at all working with tube amps?

2. What kind of tubes are in there?

3. Do you have a schematic?
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:31 PM   #3
Most_Triumphant
is being Excellent!

Quick! Someone call Cathbard!
Most_Triumphant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 04:50 PM   #4
GARAGE HERMIT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps
1. Do you have any experience at all working with tube amps?

2. What kind of tubes are in there?

3. Do you have a schematic?

no experience at all with valve amp's, but i am an electrician, so i know not to just power it up and then start sticking my finger's in amongst it,

tube's are DK96, DF96, DAF96, DL96,

no schematic yet, i'm still looking for one,,
Old 07-29-2012, 04:51 PM   #5
GARAGE HERMIT

Quote:
Originally Posted by Most_Triumphant
Quick! Someone call Cathbard!

who's " cathbard " ??
Old 07-29-2012, 05:16 PM   #6
GABarrie
Call me Gordon

Cath is an amp builder rounf these parts, but Flightless is probably more interested to be honest he does this sort of thing a lot
Archer "Dry Ice" Overdrive
EHX Deluxe Memory Boy
GABarrie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2012, 05:37 PM   #7
Culler Amps
Matt Culler

Quote:
Originally Posted by GARAGE HERMIT
no experience at all with valve amp's, but i am an electrician, so i know not to just power it up and then start sticking my finger's in amongst it,

tube's are DK96, DF96, DAF96, DL96,