Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-03-2012, 06:53 AM   #1
fungrified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
AC-15 on battery power

Hi guys,

I have an AC-15 and love it to bits but as much as its bedroom level sounds are nice, there's a little voice in my head nagging away at me that I'm not making the most of it and I need somewhere to crank it. I live in the city (well, Hobart isn't really much of a city but that's not the point) so the only way I'll be able to do that is to drive somewhere and find a secluded area and go nuts. Yes, I do know being outdoors will ruin it a lot but I'm not concerned about that; I plan on making it pretty loud and being pretty close.

So I have a couple of questions before deciding if it's worth saving up a few hundred bucks for.

Firstly, where it says 100W at the back of the amp, does that mean that's the maximum power it's going to draw, or does it mean it's what to expect at normal levels or what? This concerns me because while a car battery would seem to be able to run something at 100W for a couple of hours, if cranking it will exceed that by a fair amount, I'm not sure it'd be worth it to go ahead.

Secondly, is there any way this could be bad for the amp? What I gather is that I'd need a deep cycle 12v battery, a 12v - 240v inverter, then probably a regulator (then I'd probably stick in a surge protector for good measure as well). I hardly know anything about electronics so I don't know if that's going to give me close enough to what the amp's designed for or if any portable system that isn't made up of super high quality equipment will be inherently unstable and possibly damaging.

Thanks in advance!

PS feel free to point out any other flaws in my crazy plan
fungrified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:01 AM   #2
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
 
AcousticMirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
you'll be able to run the amp for like 13 seconds.
__________________
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
AcousticMirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:15 AM   #3
George Juggles
Registered User
 
George Juggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticMirror
you'll be able to run the amp for like 13 seconds.


If that.

The amp would use too much power
__________________
Peavey Classic 30
PRS SE Custom Semi-Hollow
Ibanez TS9
EHX Big Muff USA
BOSS DD3
Joyo Power-Supply 2
George Juggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:20 AM   #4
ikey_
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
find a way to sound proof your closet and point the amp towards the wall, close door (while running cables underneath of possible). that might be a good possibility.

thats what i would do that go through all this - field in the middle of nowhere mess.

i would somehow seal all the cracks to my closet and door (effectively sealing myself inside my bedroom)

OR

get yourself indoor storage at an storage complex and close yourself inside. some people i know have a climate controlled place where they dont care about bands and its indoor, in the middle of the facility. you could probably crank a full stack in there and from the outside...you MIGHT hear something.
__________________
Carvin CT624
Walden G630ce Acoustic
Carvin V3M, Avatar vertical 2x12 WGS Reaper, vet 30
(crybaby, Fairfield circuitry Accountant Comp, GFS tuner, CMAT Signa Drive, lovepedal trem, TC Flashback, PGS Trinity Reverb)
ikey_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 07:33 AM   #5
fungrified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticMirror
you'll be able to run the amp for like 13 seconds.


Really? Hmm, I must have the theory completely wrong. I thought 100W at 12V DC = 8.33A draw. One of the batteries I found was 38Ah, so that's a few hours usage. Which part of this am I wrong about?

As for sealing the room, I'm in an apartment where there's glass on one side which loud noise would carry through to people on the other side and there's nothing I can do about the wall between me and my neighbour.

Storage is a good idea but there's no way I can afford that

Edit: Mentioned this to my dad and he suggested a generator, which sounds like a much better choice. Any thoughts about that? I guess it'd be more than enough power but I'd just need to spend a bit more on the stability side of things?

Last edited by fungrified : 10-03-2012 at 07:37 AM.
fungrified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:49 AM   #6
Heilz
Fable in the Cold Bed
 
Heilz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New York. RAWRRRR
A generator will give you continuos energy which is what you need. I'm pretty sure your amp has a safety feature that it wont start up if it didn't had enough voltage that it needs. Because basically it just takes your AC signals amd turn it into a flat and leveled DC signal which is what you want for a good noise and skip free sound. Using your car baterry isn't going to be practical unless you have enough spares... It could live up to the amperage but if it doesn't have enough power in it thennnnn.... Yeah it wont lite up lol.

Short, go for generator. Amen.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeleopard
"RAWR WIRES >:O"

One more kiss... One more touch...
I miss you, wont you hug me just one last time?
Twitter!!~ Follow Re-follow :P
Heilz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:56 AM   #7
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticMirror
you'll be able to run the amp for like 13 seconds.

Why? I call bullshit. They make huge inverters that can run just about any household item... Why not an amp?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 08:58 AM   #8
greeny23
Mechromancer
 
greeny23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sydney, Australia
whats the longest power lead you can afford?
__________________

Cheap Stuff!


Quote:
Originally Posted by jrock05
would a pedalboard make my rc20xl loop station sound better? the playback on this thing sucks with batteries and the power supply.
greeny23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:00 AM   #9
fungrified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Yeah I don't know why I didn't think of a generator in the first place! Definitely heading down that track now.

So you reckon I shouldn't need too much in the way of power regulation etc? Will even just a decent surge-protecting powerboard be enough to make sure I don't do any damage?

Keep in mind I probably won't be looking at an expensive generator as even the ones for about $100 are rated for over 700W continuous power so even if they're overstating by a heap I should easily be fine. So if there's anything else with cheap generators I should be particularly careful of, please tell me!

Quote:
Originally Posted by greeny23
whats the longest power lead you can afford?


Why do you ask? Are you getting at running a cable from the CBD to the middle of nowhere or are you being serious?

Last edited by fungrified : 10-03-2012 at 09:02 AM.
fungrified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:07 AM   #10
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Ever since I saw this video I've been wanting to go camping and take my drum kit, a generator and some instruments. It would be awesome as hell to be in the middle of nowhere, in the middle of the night, and rocking with a full band.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:10 AM   #11
Cruel Angel
59 LP GAS
 
Cruel Angel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Rent a warehouse to play it in.
__________________
"I wanted water but I'll walk through the fire"
Cruel Angel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:12 AM   #12
fungrified
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
Ever since I saw this video I've been wanting to go camping and take my drum kit, a generator and some instruments. It would be awesome as hell to be in the middle of nowhere, in the middle of the night, and rocking with a full band.


Haha brilliant, that cop's awesome.

Cruel Angel, as I mentioned, that's too expensive.
fungrified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:15 AM   #13
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
 
AcousticMirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
Why? I call bullshit. They make huge inverters that can run just about any household item... Why not an amp?



you'd get a few hours of random loads on the battery at most, if it was a fresh battery with a deep charge.
__________________
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
AcousticMirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:22 AM   #14
rocknroll93
UG's very own Convict.
 
rocknroll93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: In Melbourne Australia! yeah....
hook a battery up to an inverter, then plug amp into said inverter.
problem solved. it's how they run all the electronics in busses/ campervans ect ect
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roc8995
No.


Well, technically it could be done, but only in the same way that you could change a cat into a hamburger. It's an unpleasant process, and nobody is happy with the result.
rocknroll93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:28 AM   #15
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticMirror
you'd get a few hours of random loads on the battery at most, if it was a fresh battery with a deep charge.

What if the car was running? Why would you shut the car off?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:35 AM   #16
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
generators tend to be loud and obnoxious.

there's a couple of quiet ones, you might want to check out.

also, i can run an amp off my car. might be easier modding your car.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:41 AM   #17
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
 
AcousticMirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
What if the car was running? Why would you shut the car off?


oh then you can run it forever.

for like 4.5 an hour.

__________________
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.
AcousticMirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:54 AM   #18
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcousticMirror
oh then you can run it forever.

for like 4.5 an hour.


A gallon of gas isn't $4.50 here... And I'm sure cars don't use a gallon of gas per hour when idling.



(Thanks blktiger, love the gif. )
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!

Last edited by tubetime86 : 10-03-2012 at 09:57 AM.
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 09:59 AM   #19
AcousticMirror
loves cheesecake
 
AcousticMirror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tubetime86
A gallon of gas isn't $4.50 here... And I'm sure cars don't use a gallon of gas per hour when idling.



(Thanks blktiger, love the gif. )


try it and see?

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/How_much_..._idle_in_1_hour

seems like 1 gallon per hour of idling is pretty standard/average. also will destroy your engine.

also my gas is 4.50 a gallon.
__________________
buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo buffalo.

Last edited by AcousticMirror : 10-03-2012 at 10:06 AM.
AcousticMirror is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 10:04 AM   #20
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
so funny, i was just about to say that the eye roll was annoying to see in the morning, but nope. that gif wins

i have to sit in an idling car, for hours, for work.

doesnt use that much gas, but the floorboard heat up
like crazy after a while, so always be mindful of where
it's parked when left running.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:06 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.