Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-06-2012, 02:57 PM   #1
SamuelParry

Advice on buying my first head (New or second-hand?)

Hi guys, this is my first ever thread so sorry if I do anything wrong! Basically, I need some advice from some more experienced guitarists about heads, or more specifically, second-hand heads.

I'm currently in the process of upgrading to a half-stack from a combo, now I am gigging in larger venues etc. I've already got a 4x12 cab which is compatible with nearly any head which is great, now I just need to buy the head. I know it's a stupid order to do things but I'm a student and low on money so I tend to buy things for cheap as soon as I see them.

Anyway, I'm in a metal band and I need a cheap(ish) all-tube head with a lot of gain and a heavy sound (similar to that of a Peavey 6505). BUT the first problem I have before I buy one is: should I buy a brand new head or a second hand one? Cheap second hand ones are quite common online, but will it be worth it if I need to replace the tubes almost immediately?

For example, I really like the Bugera heads, I think they look and sound great and are a great price for people like me who can't afford to spend a grand on a Peavey or ENGL etc. I know there's been some quality problems with them etc but I'm willing to take the risk. I've recently been offered a Bugera 6202 (a peavey 6505 clone) for 200, in perfect condition. Brand new they're about 380, so I'm getting it for almost half price, BUT I don't think the tubes have been replaced recently. How much would a full re-tubingand biasing of the amp be (approximately)? Would buying it second hand be worth the money, even though i may have to spend money on tubes and will be forfeiting any warranty i would get if i bought it new?