Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-17-2012, 12:41 AM   #1
LicketyBritches

How do I develope my ear without using tabs?

Ive been playing guitar for like 8 years or so and i like to think im pretty competent in my playing ability. my problem is that there are some things i can pick out in a song just from hearing, but a lot of times i cant, and i really kinda feel like less of a guitarist for NEEDING tabs. I know thats kind of dumb but it is what it is. so how can i learn songs without using tabs? is it something i need to force myself to do until i get it? or shoudl i ween myself off of tabs?

PS. i dont mean this as any disrespect to anyone who uses tabs, i just personally want to train my ear enough to not use them.
LicketyBritches is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 01:00 AM   #2
Hail
kill both bass players

slow it down, keep working at it. aural training, like most musical understanding, is cumulative, so you're constantly getting better while your ability to take in knowledge simultaneously grows. it's just a matter of keeping at it and taking breaks if you get frustrated, and in a few months you'll be shocked by the difference.

you can use whatever method you want, but i'd avoid weening because it's just really tempting to not actually put in the work, from personal experience. i'd recommend transcribing your own tabs of songs you've worked out if it helps you understand rhythms and such, though, on tuxguitar or guitarpro. it forces you to slow down a bit and can help you stay on track.

and don't worry about offending tab users, they should know it's a nasty habit by now
Hail is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2012, 07:13 PM   #3
gavster23