Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk > Bandleading
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 09-21-2012, 10:15 AM   #1
Sudaka
Novice Bass Player

Smile First Audiotion, please help!

I checked the stickies that seemed that may have something like this in them, but found nothing useful... Sorry if this thread has been done 65410650 times. I hope it doesn't.

The thing is like this. Tomorrow I'll be... doinf my first audition! I'm a bassist and i contacted a band which is missing a bassist (through a forum similar to this, but from my country... I'm Argentinian) and they gave me 4 tracks that i should be able to play. They gave me one week for this, and mailed me with the chords played by the guitar so i can have an idea of what everybody is doing (this was asked by myself). The thing is that I have 1 and 1/2 track wrote down in GuitarPro, and I'll have to do this tomorrow at the afternoon. I'm not having any troubles, my parts are really esay, and today is the first day of the week i have time to focus on this (It's been a busy week).

As I understood, the audition (I call it like that, they don't) would consist in playing with them in a rehearsal situation. Also, I don't need to copy what the last bassist did, they told me I could play different lines if i want. But I prefer to learn what the other guy did, and if i stay with the band, i'll add or remove whatever i want...

My questions for you, are the following: Any tip you can give me, since it's the first audition i'll be doing? I played a rehearsal with a friend's band when the bassist couldn't make it, and i also play in a band in my music school, so this isn't really my first band experience, but it's the first time i don't know someone...