Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 09-28-2012, 08:55 AM   #1
Standarduser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Brand new soundcard making "clicking" noises

Ive bought Lexicon Alpha and eveything was set up and the sound works. Problem is that once ive tried watching some tv show on the comp there was a silent moment and i heared annyoing "clicking" from the speakers. The clicks never stop, and are always there(i havent noticed before since i only listened to loud music). Ive tried listening with headphones, and they have those clicks too.

What is the problem?
Standarduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 09:26 AM   #2
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Sounds like a connection issue of some kind.
__________________
ABSENT SKIES
FFO Counter Parts, Misery Signals


The Site I Write For / My Soundcloud

Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!


Quote:
Originally Posted by MustangMan311
Proving yet again that you consistently have the worst taste on this forum.
ChemicalFire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:57 AM   #3
shreddymcshred
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
too much pr0n
shreddymcshred is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 10:58 AM   #4
masterofpuppies
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Can you describe what you mean by clicking. It it a simlar patter evenly spaced? I know mine clicks when the printer is plugged in - it could just be electrical like that.
masterofpuppies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:17 AM   #5
AmirT
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Increasing the buffer size will probably solve the problem.
AmirT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:50 AM   #6
fastlanestoner
the nxt NEXT Nigel Tufnel
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: it's a dark night on the west coast...
could be digital jitter. Is it a firewire connection?
__________________
Audio Ecstasy Productions!

Guitar/Backline Tech in the Los Angeles area and on tour!
Custom guitar pedals and cabling for stage and studio!

I set up DAWs and tweak computers to record audio. Hit me up @ audioecstasyproductions[at}gmail.com
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 11:52 AM   #7
SwoobGuitar
Registered User
 
SwoobGuitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Do you have your microphone always on? With the "Listen to..." box checked? I have that same kind of clicks from my microphone (even though I don't have any plugged in).
SwoobGuitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 12:10 PM   #8
BjarnedeGraaf
UG's Fatty McFat
 
BjarnedeGraaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foodland
try getting the newest drivers
or use their support forums for troubleshooting in addition to this forum
__________________
My Soundcloud

My beginner rig:

Epiphone Goth G-400
Line 6 Spider IV (Don't judge me, I was young and stupid)
Stagg SW203N
BjarnedeGraaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2012, 02:06 PM   #9
mikey85123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
It will most likely be a buffer size or driver issue. The point of the ASIO driver and buffer is to achieve as close to zero latency as possible so as to not experience delays when recording. This process stresses your processor and if you don't have at least a Core 2 Duo you will most likely experience this. It could also be the driver itself. Unfortunately, many manufacturers drivers do not play well with certain computers. If installing the newest drivers and increasing buffer size does not solve the problem, then your next best bet that seems to always fix this problem is to install a driver called ASIO4ALL which is a universal ASIO driver that works very well.
mikey85123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 03:43 AM   #10
Standarduser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastlanestoner
could be digital jitter. Is it a firewire connection?


Whats a firewire connection?

Quote:
Originally Posted by AmirT
Increasing the buffer size will probably solve the problem.


Where can i do that?

Quote:
Originally Posted by SwoobGuitar
Do you have your microphone always on? With the "Listen to..." box checked? I have that same kind of clicks from my microphone (even though I don't have any plugged in).


Where i can check that?
Standarduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:42 AM   #11
BjarnedeGraaf
UG's Fatty McFat
 
BjarnedeGraaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foodland
Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
Whats a firewire connection?
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=Firewire+connection

Where can i do that?
I don't know this 1, sorry


Where i can check that?
Right click the volume logo near the clock in the lower right corner, click Recording devices, check your microphone settings there.


There u go :P
__________________
My Soundcloud

My beginner rig:

Epiphone Goth G-400
Line 6 Spider IV (Don't judge me, I was young and stupid)
Stagg SW203N
BjarnedeGraaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:04 AM   #12
Standarduser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by BjarnedeGraaf
There u go :P



I have my Lexicon Alpha "in/out" in recording devices and thats it. I do have a microphone, and it does record music - how come my samson q7 doesnt show up in recording devices?
Standarduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:07 AM   #13
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 12:01 PM   #14
mikey85123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...


LOL that's funny. I'm sorry OP i'm not meaning to make fun.
mikey85123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 09:35 PM   #15
oneblackened
Future Breed Machine
 
oneblackened's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Asgaard
Is it near any leds like a hard drive access LED?

My Saffire 6 USB pops when the LED turns on and off if it's plugged into a port near the LED.

Luckily my laptop has 2 USB ports on the other side anyway.
__________________
-Dave
LTD MH-400 (SD Distortion/59)
LTD EC-1000 (BKP Black Hawks)
LTD AW-7 (Dimarzio D-Activator 7s, Hipshot Bridge)

Last edited by oneblackened : 09-29-2012 at 09:39 PM.
oneblackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 04:53 AM   #16
Standarduser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
/facepalm

Because the input for the Lexicon doesn't know what mic you're using. Its just an input. Hell, you can plug a Neumann U87 into it and it won't pop up with a box saying its a U87...



So how i make it show up? The mic has only one XLR cable and thats it.
Standarduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 07:15 AM   #17
oneblackened
Future Breed Machine
 
oneblackened's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Asgaard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
So how i make it show up? The mic has only one XLR cable and thats it.

You misunderstand. Mics don't show up, the interface's inputs do.
__________________
-Dave
LTD MH-400 (SD Distortion/59)
LTD EC-1000 (BKP Black Hawks)
LTD AW-7 (Dimarzio D-Activator 7s, Hipshot Bridge)
oneblackened is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 06:18 AM   #18
Standarduser
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneblackened
You misunderstand. Mics don't show up, the interface's inputs do.



You mean the mic has a software somewhere that needs to be installed?

I would appreciate it if you will elaborate
Standarduser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 04:56 PM   #19
mikey85123
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Standarduser
You mean the mic has a software somewhere that needs to be installed?

I would appreciate it if you will elaborate


Man you're lucky you're not getting flamed haha. The microphone is only a device that collects sound waves and sends a signal through the wire to the interface. The interface does not care what microphone you have plugged in....same with the computer. You could choose any microphone out of 200 and plug it in and it will work.

On your computer you select the Lexicon for input and output.

Where do you stand right at this moment? Have you tried anything? Is the clicking still coming from the speakers?
mikey85123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 02:39 AM   #20
BjarnedeGraaf
UG's Fatty McFat
 
BjarnedeGraaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Foodland
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey85123
Man you're lucky you're not getting flamed haha. The microphone is only a device that collects sound waves and sends a signal through the wire to the interface. The interface does not care what microphone you have plugged in....same with the computer. You could choose any microphone out of 200 and plug it in and it will work.

On your computer you select the Lexicon for input and output.

Where do you stand right at this moment? Have you tried anything? Is the clicking still coming from the speakers?


Could be the speakers too, sometime ago I started to hear (very softly) a radiostation through my boxes/bassbox. xD not sure if that would be the same why your speakers are "clicking" xD, somehow it just stopped for me :P
__________________
My Soundcloud

My beginner rig:

Epiphone Goth G-400
Line 6 Spider IV (Don't judge me, I was young and stupid)
Stagg SW203N
BjarnedeGraaf is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:57 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.