Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 09-30-2012, 01:23 PM   #1
nosuchmanasmole
F**k 11 my amp goes to 13
 
nosuchmanasmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
cleaning up reaper files

stupidly didnt make separate project folders when i started using reaper now i have all these crappy out-take samples that i dont need and no way of deleting them without screwing up my other projects

anyone know if there's anyway i can delete all the sample that arent being used in any of my projects ?

thanks
nosuchmanasmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:22 PM   #2
demon.guitarist
The Bronies got me too...
 
demon.guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Re-save the projects you want in a project folder and then just delete everything else? I may be misunderstanding your predicament.
demon.guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 08:36 PM   #3
nosuchmanasmole
F**k 11 my amp goes to 13
 
nosuchmanasmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
i tired doing that but all the samples stay in the main folder

ive started moving them manually into separate folders but its going to take a hell of a long time
nosuchmanasmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:03 PM   #4
alexpalka23
Registered User
 
alexpalka23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I'm also wondering this. I did the same thing and I have roughly 3 years of projects that are stuck on my HDD haha. Anyone have some insight? Me and TS will love you forever, we swear
__________________
"Then I just had a cage full of mice."
alexpalka23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:05 AM   #5
Odirunn
Hi, I'm Adam
 
Odirunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Orleans, LA
Save as, select the option to make a new project directory and to move all files to the new location. Delete all your old project folders and audio clips once you're sure the newly saved project directory and project files are working correctly.
__________________
Let's party.
Odirunn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:19 AM   #6
alexpalka23
Registered User
 
alexpalka23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
So, i don't know if you have aready figured this out on your own or not, but i figured it out. Go to file>Consolodate/Export Tracks

Make The new folder where you want it to be, and consolidate the project to there. All of the files will be copied to that new folder. Next time you open the project, navigate to that folder and find the project file, then open it with that through the File>open option in reaper.

Side note, all of the midi things ie. drums or whatever will become one solid midi part, so make sure you edit the cut pieces first before you do this, less it gets very tiresome to edit a huge line of midi in post production.
__________________
"Then I just had a cage full of mice."
alexpalka23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 02:53 PM   #7
nosuchmanasmole
F**k 11 my amp goes to 13
 
nosuchmanasmole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odirunn
Save as, select the option to make a new project directory and to move all files to the new location. Delete all your old project folders and audio clips once you're sure the newly saved project directory and project files are working correctly.



ah thats the one , i cant believe i didnt see that stupid little box cheers man

alex that consoldating thing affects the samples , its much easier to use the other method
nosuchmanasmole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 08:29 PM   #8
fastlanestoner
the nxt NEXT Nigel Tufnel
 
fastlanestoner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: it's a dark night on the west coast...
I would delete what you can in the DAW
__________________
Audio Ecstasy Productions!

Guitar/Backline Tech in the Los Angeles area and on tour!
Custom guitar pedals and cabling for stage and studio!

I set up DAWs and tweak computers to record audio. Hit me up @ audioecstasyproductions[at}gmail.com
fastlanestoner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2012, 12:25 AM   #9
alexpalka23
Registered User
 
alexpalka23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nosuchmanasmole
ah thats the one , i cant believe i didnt see that stupid little box cheers man

alex that consoldating thing affects the samples , its much easier to use the other method


Ahh, okay, there IS a checkbox to move the files to the new directory.

Awesome. Looks like we both just got helped :p cheers brother!
__________________
"Then I just had a cage full of mice."
alexpalka23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:26 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.