Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-02-2012, 02:39 PM   #1
_inthewoodshed

Amp advice

Hey,
I started playing bass just under 18 months ago now, self taught. I got a bass and amp off eBay (I know, I know) - a Fender Squier Affinity P-Bass (in Candy Apple Red, just fyi) and its accompanying Fender Rumble 15W amp. I don't know much about the technical side of amps, but I know it's not a great one. I'm still not a great bass player (other things like school and playing sax have a place in my life too) and haven't found a band / found anyone willing to form a band yet, to the disappointment of my father - I'm the only musical person in the family, so it would seem he's going overboard on the encouragement.
Anyway, for my 16th birthday in May, my dad got me a Marshall MB4410 combo amp (again off eBay), which I was initially kinda horrified with - it comes up to my hips and weighs more than me. It makes a lovely sound and I love using it, but I don't know if it's too big for the usage I'm looking at - primarily an amp for rehearsing at home, but which could also be used for small gigs if the need arose.
Could anyone advise me on this, and on any subsequent (preferably more portable, and possibly less powerful?) alternatives?
Thanks all!
India
_inthewoodshed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2012, 06:34 AM   #2
Phil Starr

I'd probably advise you to wait a while, You have the Fender amp for bedroom practice and the Marshall to gig with, though that is a long way away. So long as you can store the Marshall what is the problem? I assume your dad will help you transport it if necessary.