Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 09-26-2012, 02:48 PM   #1
mikeyboosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Exclamation Urgent: Psu problem!!

I have a Digitech whammy WH1 power supply. I was advised it was 10 volt 1.3 amp psu but I cant find anything like this at maplins.

9 volt 1.3 amps doesnt work neither does 9 volt 1.7 amps. Light comes on but no sound.

I have been using a 9 volt 2.8 amp psu which is intended for an Idj. It works using this but in a freaky sort of temperamental way and its an original pedal that I have on a permanent borrow.....sort of dont wanna blow it up....

Your help will be much appreciated Guitar Forum Gurus!

Peace x
mikeyboosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:51 PM   #2
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
Wait wait, you've just been plugging in random adapters? I'd be surprised if you didn't break it. I'd probably just use the proprietary adapter.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 02:53 PM   #3
NeXEkho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Whoa whoa whoa plug nothing in until you know exactly what you're plugging into what.

According to its wikipedia page it requires 9V AC rather than the DC most Boss style power supplies put out, for what that's worth.

If you're lucky you haven't broken it.
NeXEkho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:03 PM   #4
mikeyboosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
It still works and I have been using AC adapters

Just the original adapter apparently had a 10V Psu.....

The stress I have had with this piece of gear is nothing short of ridiculous.

I dont have the original adapter as my friend had lost if when he lent me this bad boy.

Now when I recorded my last album the producer said you could use a 9 volt but with more milliamps.

Trying to find the direct spec of the original adapter is proving difficult.... Any help would be much appreciated.

Cheers
mikeyboosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:05 PM   #5
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
As said it needs an AC power supply. IIRC, the DT was the first one that used a 9vdc PS.

Note that when we say AC, we mean AC OUT...
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.

Last edited by Arby911 : 09-26-2012 at 03:06 PM.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:10 PM   #6
mikeyboosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I know its an AC AC . Does not need an AC DC. So on etc...

Will it be safe putting 2.8 amps into it?

How many milliamps should it be usually?

This is the bit I really am querying.

Thanks for the interest everybody!
mikeyboosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:16 PM   #7
tubetime86
I don't even play guitar.
 
tubetime86's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Contact digitech?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raijouta
Unless its electronic drums.

BURN THE WITCH!!!!!
tubetime86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:20 PM   #8
NeXEkho
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
The volts need to match.
The polarity of the connectors need to match on DC supplies. (outer/centre negative/positive)
The amps the PSU can supply need to exceed the pedal draws.
The kind of power (DC or AC) the PSU OUTPUTS needs to match what the pedal expects.

If all four conditions are met and it doesn't work, well, it doesn't work and you'll need to check all the hardware involved. (guitar, leads, amp, pedal, PSU)

Last edited by NeXEkho : 09-26-2012 at 03:46 PM.
NeXEkho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:21 PM   #9
Arby911
Finding the Pattern
 
Arby911's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikeyboosh
I know its an AC AC . Does not need an AC DC. So on etc...

Will it be safe putting 2.8 amps into it?

How many milliamps should it be usually?

This is the bit I really am querying.

Thanks for the interest everybody!


It wouldn't matter if the PS could supply 2.8 million amps, the unit will only draw what it can use.

IIRC, the original PS was 9vac, 780ma so that or anything greater should work.
__________________
The man who holds to a belief because of tradition, or hides it because he fears he may be shown to be wrong, does not love the truth but manifests a coward’s faithfulness to his prejudices.
Arby911 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2012, 03:35 PM   #10
mikeyboosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
It wouldn't matter if the PS could supply 2.8 million amps, the unit will only draw what it can use.

IIRC, the original PS was 9vac, 780ma so that or anything greater should work.


Best answer award goes this guy! Thank you.

Im gonna try more milliamps...... as its working with an ac ac 9 volt 2.8 amp idj psu with some minor freak outs but so far has not worked with the ac ac 9 volt 1.7amp. Strange strange strange. If it blows up I will blame no one but myself....If it works then thank you.
mikeyboosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 03:21 PM   #11
mikeyboosh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
It works. Thanks!
mikeyboosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:35 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.