Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-04-2012, 05:57 PM   #1
roaddawg07
Registered User
 
roaddawg07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: upstate New York
Ohm ?

My amp head has 5 outputs two 4 ohm,two 8ohm and one 16 ohm.My question is can I plug a 4 ohm and 8 ohm cabinets at the same time. Could someone please explain why or why not this would work Thanks.
__________________
Luna Andromeda dragon bass
Schecter Omen Extreme
Fender strat
Fender Labrea electic/acoustic
Peavey tour 450
Peavey tour 410/115
Galien-kruger Backline 600
Black Heart BH15h
Gibson Les Paul gold top (Knock off)
roaddawg07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:07 PM   #2
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
It depends on how its all wired up. Do you have the schematic or the manual for your amp? Would be useful to know what amp it is as well. Other than that, asking the manufacturer is generally a good idea.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:25 PM   #3
roaddawg07
Registered User
 
roaddawg07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: upstate New York
It's a Black heart Bh 15.No manual
__________________
Luna Andromeda dragon bass
Schecter Omen Extreme
Fender strat
Fender Labrea electic/acoustic
Peavey tour 450
Peavey tour 410/115
Galien-kruger Backline 600
Black Heart BH15h
Gibson Les Paul gold top (Knock off)
roaddawg07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:37 PM   #4
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
http://www.blackhearteng.com/pdf/BH15H_OM.pdf

Looks like you can't do it. Page 6 and 7 are what you're looking for.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 03:56 AM   #5
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
Quote:
Originally Posted by roaddawg07
My amp head has 5 outputs two 4 ohm,two 8ohm and one 16 ohm.My question is can I plug a 4 ohm and 8 ohm cabinets at the same time.


no

Quote:
Originally Posted by roaddawg07
Could someone please explain why or why not this would work Thanks.


because you amp has a transformer that convert impedance from the output tubes to match the speakers. this is known as impedance matching.

the transformer has a number of wires wrapped around one another that converts the impedance to different values. the jacks out the back are connected to the taps on the transformer (taps are the connections points for those wires).

when you use a transformer, you need to use only 1 tap from the transformer and the impedance needs to match the impedance from the tap. else you have problems.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:46 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.