Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-05-2012, 10:28 AM   #1
lemmyisgod97
Banned

Would you have a teen musician in your band ?

I'm a 15 year old self taught guitarist and i want to join a band, but i'm worried that i won't be taken seriously because i am a teenager. I am a completely capable guitarist and i think i'm better than a lot of adults, ( i don't mean that in an arrogant way but i am self taught and have been playing for nearly 10 years). My favourite band is Thin Lizzy and I found out that Brian Robertson joined Thin Lizzy when he was 17 so i thought if he can do it why can't I.
So the question is, Would you have a 15 year old in your band if he was talented and very capable ?
lemmyisgod97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:32 AM   #2
Johnny_Ibanez
ʎuuɥoſ

I expect a 15 year old would need ferrying around, probably wouldn't be able to afford to contribute towards practice sessions and general band consumables, and would limit the places that we could play in, as a lot of venues are over-18.

So no. Sorry. You're out.
Johnny_Ibanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:33 AM   #3
Lemoninfluence
Masculist

Given how much shit I got from venue managers when I was 17 and playing gigs in bars, I wouldn't want to have to deal with that for 3 years. So unless you're Shawn Lane levels of talent, I'd say no.

Quote:
Originally Posted by element4433
Yeah. people, like Lemoninfluence, are hypocrites and should have all their opinions invalidated from here on out.
Lemoninfluence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #4
entity0009
UG's Null.

Nope. Lots of places I've played at enforce a minimum-age policy, even for performers. Sorry dude.
You might also want to worry about not being taken seriously for not capitalising your "I"s.
entity0009 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 10:34 AM   #5
metacarpi
Too old for this ****

Quote: