Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-07-2012, 12:57 AM   #1
CaptGangbang

New Guitarist Needs Overdrive Advice

Greetings to all of you lovely Ultimate-Guitar types. I'm a drummer who just started playing guitar in a cover band (everything from old Metallica to Weezer to Hootie and the Blowfish -- it's quite a setlist...).

I just bought an Orange Micro Terror that I'm running through a Carvin 4x12. I don't currently have any effects accept for a cheap wah. My main guitar is a Squier Affinity tele (I know, I know...) and my backup is an Agile AL-3100 LP copy. I'm really a drummer, so I'm trying not to invest a whole lot in my guitar rig. I just rehearsed w/ the Orange for the first time today and found it had no problem at all keeping up with our drummer. It sounds great on a lot of our stuff, but some of the more metal songs could use a little more gain.

I'm thinking about buying the Joyo Vintage Overdrive to add a little more crunch when I need a slightly more modern, higher-gain tone. I'm also looking to use it as a volume boost for my astonishingly bad solos. I know the Joyo is supposed to be one of the better Tube Screamer clones, but will it give me what I'm looking for? Thanks in advance.

Your Friend,

Captain Gangbang
CaptGangbang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:02 AM   #2
gumbilicious
beginner

sure, just run the amp a bit dirty and run that joyo in front of it for some pretty heavy tones

another option is a rat distortion pedal, it would allow you to run your amp more clean and enables some pretty heavy tones

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 01:08 AM   #3
CaptGangbang