Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-07-2012, 09:42 AM   #1
JayCartay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Mic'ing a 2x12 amp

I've just replaced my 1x12 Marshall Valvestate with an old Peavey Classic 2x12. If I mic just one speaker will I miss any of the actual sound and tone coming from the amp? Is there any known good technique I could/should use?
JayCartay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 10:29 AM   #2
axemanchris
Awwww.... NOW what?!
 
axemanchris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
http://www.recordingmag.com/videos/10.html

Great magazine, too. Definitely worth the subscription price.

CT
__________________
Could I get some more talent in the monitors, please?

I know it sounds crazy, but try to learn to inhale your voice. www.thebelcantotechnique.com

Quote:
Originally Posted by firehawk
Chris is the king of relating music things to other objects in real life.
axemanchris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 11:54 AM   #3
JayCartay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I'll take a look at that when I'm home, thanks.
JayCartay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 12:48 PM   #4
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
Simple answer - No.

You get more speakers to increase projection, it's more to do with live situations.

Unless you've got 2 differing speakers, then you will be missing tone.
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 03:08 PM   #5
chronowarp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Even if you aren't getting a different tonal character, I'm usually putting 2 mics on a cab anyway,and it's a bit easier to just stick one on each cone rather than trying to cluster them when you have a single speaker.
__________________
Check out my band Socrates and the Lava Gods
chronowarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:16 PM   #6
JayCartay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
I guess I'd need a better interface then, as mine has just one mic input.
JayCartay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 06:41 PM   #7
MatrixClaw
UG God
 
MatrixClaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Climbin In Yo Window, Snatchin Yo People Up
Unless they are different speakers, no.

Find the one that sounds best to you and then use that one. Even if you plan on using two different mics in different positions on the cone, you should really be micing the SAME speaker, because you can run into some weird phasing issues if you're not careful - Obviously, you still can using one speaker, but it's much easier to get it wrong with two.

In short, no - You don't need to mic both.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2012, 07:46 PM   #8
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Even on 4 x 12's people only mic one speaker.

What IS quite common though is to try all of the available speakers and choosing the one that sounds best. One speaker is almost always a little better then the other(s).
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 12:57 AM   #9
chronowarp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixClaw
Unless they are different speakers, no.

Find the one that sounds best to you and then use that one. Even if you plan on using two different mics in different positions on the cone, you should really be micing the SAME speaker, because you can run into some weird phasing issues if you're not careful - Obviously, you still can using one speaker, but it's much easier to get it wrong with two.

In short, no - You don't need to mic both.

Phasing: natures EQ
__________________
Check out my band Socrates and the Lava Gods
chronowarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 01:56 AM   #10
MatrixClaw
UG God
 
MatrixClaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Climbin In Yo Window, Snatchin Yo People Up
Quote:
Originally Posted by chronowarp
Phasing: natures EQ

I guess if a hollow tone is what you're goin for
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 03:57 AM   #11
chronowarp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixClaw
I guess if a hollow tone is what you're goin for

There are tons of ways to affect the phase without it sounding "hollow".

There are plenty of out of phase sounds that end up functioning more effectively in a mix than a totally in phase signal...just another option. It's funny you'd say that when tons of highly esteemed audio engineers use phasing as an effect and EQ device...
__________________
Check out my band Socrates and the Lava Gods
chronowarp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2012, 04:51 PM   #12
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
It's not too hard to cancel out with a good ear and different mic placement, I use two Eminence Redcoat Governors and 2 V30s in my 4x12.

EDIT: And I mic one of each, then I use an ambient mic about a metre and a half away.
__________________
Silverburst

Last edited by Insanity ninja : 10-08-2012 at 04:53 PM.
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:10 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.