Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 10-10-2012, 06:58 PM   #1
jdcg15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Help with straplocks

Hi. Thanks for reading first. My problem is that I want to install a set of straplocks to my classical guitar, its a Washburn C5 by the way here it is , but I'm afraid that it may affect the sound of the whole guitar. And I'm also afraid about the wood.

So, my question: Is there any way to install straplocks to my guitar (or any other guitar) without drilling a hole in its wood?

I'd really appreciate your answer.

Thank you for reading.
jdcg15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:01 PM   #2
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
Strap button or strap locks of any kind are going to require drilling a hole to hold the button. I don't think it would be possible to do it any other way.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:02 PM   #3
Darkdevil725
UG Freak
 
Darkdevil725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
1. It will not change your tone at all in any way.
2. Yes here is a link to one solution.
http://www.planetwaves.com/pwPlanet...22-0187acff740b
__________________
Love and Hate
You can't have one without the other - Me

My site for helping those with a low budget find good gear.
Best Budget Guitarist
Also my bad youtube channel.
Guess That Riff
Darkdevil725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:05 PM   #4
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
Seeing as its a classical guitar I'm willing to bet it doesn't have an end pin.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:15 PM   #5
Darkdevil725
UG Freak
 
Darkdevil725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Saale
Seeing as its a classical guitar I'm willing to bet it doesn't have an end pin.

They usually at least have one on the bottom then the other end of the strap usually loops around the headstock, at least all of the acoustics I have ever used have been that way.
__________________
Love and Hate
You can't have one without the other - Me

My site for helping those with a low budget find good gear.
Best Budget Guitarist
Also my bad youtube channel.
Guess That Riff
Darkdevil725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:20 PM   #6
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdevil725
They usually at least have one on the bottom then the other end of the strap usually loops around the headstock, at least all of the acoustics I have ever used have been that way.


A lot of them don't though, because true classical guitarist don't usually play standing up.

But back to the question, Darkdevil is right, if the guitar has an end pin. If it doesn't I'd look into having a luthier install one unless you know what you're doing. If the guitar doesn't have an endpin then there probably isn't a block or anything there to hold it.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:25 PM   #7
jdcg15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdevil725
1. It will not change your tone at all in any way.
2. Yes here is a link to one solution.
http://www.planetwaves.com/pwPlanet...22-0187acff740b


Thanks, but are you damn sure it wont change my tone at all? Because I bought this guitar in a very high price here in my country and you know what it feels when you buy something by your own.
jdcg15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:29 PM   #8
jdcg15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Saale
A lot of them don't though, because true classical guitarist don't usually play standing up.

But back to the question, Darkdevil is right, if the guitar has an end pin. If it doesn't I'd look into having a luthier install one unless you know what you're doing. If the guitar doesn't have an endpin then there probably isn't a block or anything there to hold it.


Well, if you clicked the link, you could see that there's no pin at all.

And Kevin, you're right but sometimes I need to stand up.
jdcg15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:44 PM   #9
Darkdevil725
UG Freak
 
Darkdevil725's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcg15
Well, if you clicked the link, you could see that there's no pin at all.

And Kevin, you're right but sometimes I need to stand up.

Then if there is no strap button *which you cannot really tell from that crappy stock photo* then your only choice is to have a strap button installed which will mean you will have to put a hole in your guitar. And I can say with 100% certainty that it will not change your tone.
__________________
Love and Hate
You can't have one without the other - Me

My site for helping those with a low budget find good gear.
Best Budget Guitarist
Also my bad youtube channel.
Guess That Riff
Darkdevil725 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:46 PM   #10
Kevin Saale
Talks to empty chairs
 
Kevin Saale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: In a desert, next to a chair
I wasn't judging you, just explaining why classicals don't usually have end pins.

As far as the link, I couldn't tell from the angle of the pic if there was an end pin or not.

Now that we know I'd say pony up and pay a luthier to do it. Any mistake while drilling could cause a crack, and I know you wouldn't want that to happen.
__________________
I don't give a shit if you listen to me or not.

Quote:
Get three coffins ready.

My mistake, four coffins.
Kevin Saale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:52 PM   #11
jdcg15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdevil725
Then if there is no strap button *which you cannot really tell from that crappy stock photo* then your only choice is to have a strap button installed which will mean you will have to put a hole in your guitar. And I can say with 100% certainty that it will not change your tone.


The photo is crappy I know hahah. But thanks anyway, I'm trusting you about the tone. Thanks.
jdcg15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 07:55 PM   #12
jdcg15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kevin Saale
I wasn't judging you, just explaining why classicals don't usually have end pins.

As far as the link, I couldn't tell from the angle of the pic if there was an end pin or not.

Now that we know I'd say pony up and pay a luthier to do it. Any mistake while drilling could cause a crack, and I know you wouldn't want that to happen.


Yeah, I was going to take it to a luthier to do it. I just was very afraid about the tone. Thanks
jdcg15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 08:53 PM   #13
W4RP1G
Please, call me Pig.
 
W4RP1G's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkdevil725
They usually at least have one on the bottom then the other end of the strap usually loops around the headstock, at least all of the acoustics I have ever used have been that way.

I've never seen a classical acoustic with one.
W4RP1G is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:23 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.