Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 10-31-2012, 07:38 PM   #1
red.guitar
Imagine All The People

DIY Tube Amp - Beginner

I've been thinking a lot latly, about trying to build my own tube amp. I'm not 100% sure where I should start, so I've come here to ask the experts!

I've seen kits for sale in the $300 price range, but I'm trying to keep this project as cheap as possible; I was thinking of just finding a good schematic, and sourcing the parts myself.

I should state that I'm by no means an electronics expert (thats why I'm here) , basically, I have a fairly deacent understanding of electronics theory (I took a few courses in college), and I can solder.

For this project, I'm not as focued on building an awesome tube amp (It would be nice though), as I am focued on learing how the amps work, and learning how to build better ones.

I found a schematic for a 17 watt 6L6 and a 12-50 watt amp.

Basically, I'm just looking for some imput, and suggestions as to where I should start, and what direction to go in. I'm not completly set on using either of those schematics, so if someone has a better suggestion, by all means shoot it to me. I'm not planning on starting this project for another month or so, but I'd like to have all my ducks in a line before I do start!
Snake Pit Les Paul
MIM Fender Tele

Amps:
Jet City JCA 50H
Randall 212+115
Mesa Boogie 212

Check out my band CITIES GATEWAY
red.guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2012, 08:49 PM   #2
KG6_Steven
Serving Knowledge

Building a tube amp can be an expensive proposition - even more expensive than buying something off the shelf. I thought about building one a few years ago, but decided I could get a better one off the shelf at my nearest guitar store. Going with a kit is probably a wise decision. The kit should give you the theory of operation, which will help broaden your knowledge and experience.