Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-07-2012, 02:50 PM   #1
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Will this bridge fit on my guitar?

I have a lower end jackson i dont know the exact model. I made an ID thred on here and nobody knew but right now it has a vintage type trem of that helps. i want to get this http://www.musiciansfriend.com/acce...363039000001000 Would it work? and how do i install it? do i still need springs?



Pics in lower post

Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 : 11-07-2012 at 07:35 PM.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:57 PM   #2
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
No, it will not work.
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:57 PM   #3
C0FF1NF33D3R
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
It's impossible to say without a photo, model #, or a link for your guitar. Obviously.
C0FF1NF33D3R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:58 PM   #4
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
alright ill try to post a pic
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:52 PM   #5
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:16 PM   #6
jinsu2301
Registered Loser
 
jinsu2301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.
jinsu2301 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
how do i know if their at the same position? and would it be an improvement? Also is the new one going to need screw near the bridge pickup like my trem now has?

Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 : 11-07-2012 at 04:30 PM.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:35 PM   #8
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by jinsu2301
if both bridge plates have those big 3 screws at the exact same position, then it might work. just replace the plate with the saddles with the new bridge. yes, you still need springs if you haven't locked your tremolo yet.

What are you smoking? He wants to put a HARDTAIL bridge on a trem equipped guitar. There isn't even a place to attach springs on the hipshot.......



T.S. - You pretty much have 2 options here.

A. Buy a better quality trem, that will bolt in place of the original.

B. Block the trem

There is actually one way to turn that guitar into a true hardtail, although it will require some serious modification, and I doubt you want to go that far -


Last edited by Culler Amps : 11-07-2012 at 04:37 PM.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:46 PM   #9
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
I really wouldn't attempt to do that, unless the bridge is terrible, I'd just stick with it.

And in relation to that video, I watched the rest... he didn't shield his cavities!
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:49 PM   #10
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
So i could do that then install the new bridge?
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:53 PM   #11
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Alright im going to simplify this. Can i install that hipshot bridge on my guitar without mods?
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:54 PM   #12
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
I'll simplify the answer.

No.
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 04:55 PM   #13
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity ninja
I'll simplify the answer.

No.

Okay thanks. Can you recommend a bridge that will that comes in black?
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:01 PM   #14
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
It'd be much easier to find out if you could tell us the model.
And is there anything wrong with the bridge, or do you just wanna change the colour?
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:04 PM   #15
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem

Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 : 11-07-2012 at 05:06 PM.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:07 PM   #16
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody ha any idea on here.


Plenty of people on here can probably identify the model, if you'll just post a pic of it. Make sure to get the headstock and entire body in the picture.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:13 PM   #17
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
 
Huge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match. And i want a trem that i could use and not go out of tune. if i cant have that ill just deal with what i got now and not use the trem


Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.
Huge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:19 PM   #18
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
I have no clue and nobody had any idea on here. i went through all of jackson catalogs from 1990 to 2012 and i found no match.


Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:22 PM   #19
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps
Just searched for your ID thread. Its a Jackson JS22R.

An accurate ruler is your friend when it come to finding a replacement trem.

Its not a js22r well atleast the neck isnt. the body looks the same but the neck isnt reversed and has dot inlays
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 05:30 PM   #20
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Huge Guy
Well that link you posted is for a hard tail, you know. As in "no trem bar."

I'd just stick with what you have for now and at some point upgrade to a new guitar with a Floyd Rose system.

Id rather not have a trem bar but if i have to ill deal with it
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:53 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.