Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-02-2012, 02:19 PM   #1
Solipsis1

Guitar home recording help?

Just a couple questions about recording that have probably been asked a million times but i'm new ha ha..

I have a pretty basic set up..

Tascam US-144 MKII
Reaper
TH2, a few different impulses & Amplitube Metal/3 (Amp/Cab simulation) I'd like to go Axe Fx soon but I will probably get a nice tube amp and cab too because you just can't break some habits ha ha.
EZdrummer- Drum Kit From Hell expansion
Ibanez RG4EX1 Quilted maple top/Basswood Body (Ernie Ball Skinny Top Heavy Bottoms)
and some random synth vsts.

I have been messing around with recording/production for a few years now but I really want to figure out how to get the sound in my head out. Any tips or MUST DO'S for recording a great sounded guitar regardless if it's metal, jazz, fusion etc. Tips for Metal mixing? Compression do's and don't's? Best cab/amp sim? Mastering tips?

You can hear samples of my music/production at (prog metal) soundcloud.com/solipsis11 facebook.com/solipsis11 or (fusion/funk/rock) facebook.com/chrisaguilarmusic.

Thanks!
Solipsis1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2012, 07:41 PM   #2
Richiecroz

When it comes to metal, personally ive had a lot more luck using a proper amp and a mic..

Play each track individually instead of copying your guitars. I do 4 tracks for rhythm, one hard left one hard right, one 70 left and one 70 right

Put a high pass filter one one set and a low pass on the other.

Works a treat for me, tho i am only just learning the ropes, ive got some really nice tones using this method recently.
Richiecroz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:22 AM   #3
josh_salty