Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-03-2012, 05:14 PM   #1
Vond

Post I am confused

I recently decided to pick a guitar up because they always seemed easy and child's play with the messy tabs, sloppy look and such.

So far, I have managed to play G, C, B D, F C, E and A majors and minors. I am doing fairly well playing them, switching from one to another, different variations etc..

As for songs.. well, I can play Enter Sandman, The terrible smoke on the Water, Sweet Child O' mine(Intro), Thunder strike(Intro) and one or two more which I can't seem to remember.

Tuning is not much of a problem either.. perhaps it's due to the experience I have with violins and viola's? I also hope I can benefit from this sine I have been playing violins and viola's for about 7 years now. I hope it at least will make things bit easier..

Anyways, what I am trying to say is that I am trying to learn playing the guitar by myself without spending thousands of dollars on DVDs, books, teachers, tapes and what not.

This is my 2nd day with my first guitar(It's an Epiphone - Special Model, I can't say if it's any good). I also bought an amp which is a Line 6 15 W.

So far, It's been a very good experience for me but I don't know if I am doing it ''right''. I don't know what to work on, what to play next, what to practise or which direction to go.

I doubt playing random songs and such will get me anywhere. I could use some ''guidance''. And it has to be free as well.

EDIT: Marty Schwartz's videos have been a great source of knowledge to me.

I appreciate all the help I can get.

Thank you.

Last edited by Vond : 11-03-2012 at 05:16 PM.
Vond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2012, 05:21 PM   #2
tappooh

Im confused as well, what is it exactly that you need help with?

Your post is a bit vague. You should probably post a video of yourself playing something so that we can see what you need to work on.