Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-05-2012, 05:14 PM   #1
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Having effects pedal issues...No sound. Help?

Hey everyone...Had a multi effects for a while but I really wanna get into individual stomp boxes...Anywho. I have my digitech jamman and I just got my Joyo Digital delay. So I dont usually hook up alot of pedals but this should be right. Cable from my guitar into my Instrument input on my Looper. Then a cable running from my output on my looper to the input on my delay. Then a cable running from the output on my delay to the input on my amp... Also...Even when my guitar is plugged into the input and then cable going from the output to the input on my amp i turn on the pedal and it just gets loud and buzzy and wont make noise. Its like my guitar only will go through the amp when the delay and looper are off...Help?
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:16 PM   #2
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
 
fly135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orlando
The looper should be last in your chain of stomps and played into the cleanest amp possible. That means you should get some pedals for distortion as well.
__________________
Tasty Licks - A collection of my music
fly135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:22 PM   #3
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Okay so it should go Guitar-Delay input-Delay output-Looper instrument input-Output to amp input?
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 05:26 PM   #4
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Also like I said I will plug just into my delay and then itll play through the amp but as soon as i hit the switch everything goes quiet and my signal wont go through the amp...Is my Delay broken? Is there a way to know?
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:13 PM   #5
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
 
fly135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orlando
It may be broken or the battery could be dead. Are you having the same problem with the looper?
__________________
Tasty Licks - A collection of my music
fly135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:25 PM   #6
dumbface12
They call me Bubbles
 
dumbface12's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In a shed at Sunnyvale Trailer Park
With delay pedals battery life is very short so the battery in your joyo digital delay may be bad.
__________________
Yeah I'm that guy who says I'm right
but more than likely is wrong

It happens doesn't it?
dumbface12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:33 PM   #7
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Well I have the delay powered with a 9v power cord. And no the looper seems to be producing sound just fine. If I have a 9v battery in it and the 9v wall plug in will that affect anything?
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:40 PM   #8
NakedInTheRain
Registered Muser
 
NakedInTheRain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Straya
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasian
If I have a 9v battery in it and the 9v wall plug in will that affect anything?

no, when you insert the wall plug it physically disconnects the battery from the pedal's circuitry.
__________________
Pedalboard Thread Native: The Fuzzy Little Man Peach

UG's Best Small Pedalboard 2013
NakedInTheRain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:47 PM   #9
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Well crap I dunno. Guess I got a lemon. Is there anything I can do if I open up the casing? Maybe one wire is loose or something? I just find it weird I get sound as long as it isnt switched on...
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:46 PM   #10
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
 
fly135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orlando
Try disconnecting the power cord and see if the battery will make it work.
__________________
Tasty Licks - A collection of my music
fly135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:47 PM   #11
fly135
Cheap Gear Enthusiast
 
fly135's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Orlando
Quote:
Originally Posted by blasian
I just find it weird I get sound as long as it isnt switched on...
That's an indication that it's true bypass.
__________________
Tasty Licks - A collection of my music
fly135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 12:59 AM   #12
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I took the power source out and ran it just on a battery and it still happened. And yeah its true bypass...But its also truly not working. Im gonna send it back and just get another. Oh well. I guess it happens :/
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:32 PM   #13
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
I hate to revive this topic. But I got another pedal same pedal just one that supposedly isnt defective. I plug it into my amp clean just the guitar pedal and amp...I strum I hear sound. I switch it on and my amp makes this loud god awful buzzing noise. Really loud. Switch it off...Normal clean guitar. Switch on the delay pedal loud amp sounds like its having a baby. I switched out batteries and ive tried 2 different 9v adapters. What is goin on?
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2012, 06:50 PM   #14
blasian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Also im running this into a Peavey 158 rage transtube amp. Nothing great...But it runs an RP500 and Looper just fine. Does my amp have anything to do with this? I dont know much about this...
blasian is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:37 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.