Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-05-2012, 06:44 PM   #1
red.guitar
Imagine All The People
 
red.guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
10 band eq blinking lights??

So I plugged my MXR 10 band EQ in front of my Vox last night, and as soon as I plugged in the power supply, the two outside slide lights started blinking on and off.

When I turn the pedal on, and all the slides light up, none of them blink! As soon as I turn the pedal off, the two outside slides will start blinking again.

This is the first time this has every happened. The pedal seems to be working fine, but this is just bugging me. I'm using the 18v adapter that came with the pedal, like always.

Does anyone have an explanation for this?
__________________
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute
MIJ Contemporary Strat
Snake Pit Les Paul
MIM Fender Tele

Amps:
Jet City JCA 50H
Vox AC30CCH
Mesa Boogie 212
Randall 212+115
red.guitar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 06:53 PM   #2
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"
 
jthm_guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West Coast USA
Is it a quick uneven blinking? Could be a loose component.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thrashtastic15
when you sense an attack slap the sack

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:05 PM   #3
BCKRedBaron
Registrar'd Loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Is everything else functioning correct? Are those sliders having the intended effect on your tone?

I got my 10-band used off ebay and it does the same thing. I'm using the adapter like you are. But otherwise there's nothing at all wrong with mine. I think it might be just a quirk with those pedals, but you should be fine. I don't believe it's anything to worry about function-wise.
__________________
Ibanez UV777 - Carvin TL60 & 727 - Jackson KE-3
Splawn QuickRod - Mesa Stiletto Ace - Peavey Ultra+ - Peavey Bandit
Boss BD-2 - Musket - Keeley TS9 - MXR EQ
Crybaby 535q - Boss DD20 - Boss CE20 - ISP Decimator - Legacy 4x12 - Peavey 112 - Mesa 112
BCKRedBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:22 PM   #4
olix95
Registered User
 
olix95's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Hornell, New York
i notice my 10-band will do that when i get clipping
olix95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:25 PM   #5
BCKRedBaron
Registrar'd Loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
olix, do you usually run yours in front of the amp, or in the fx loop?

Sorry, sheldonpardy, didn't mean to hijack your thread...
__________________
Ibanez UV777 - Carvin TL60 & 727 - Jackson KE-3
Splawn QuickRod - Mesa Stiletto Ace - Peavey Ultra+ - Peavey Bandit
Boss BD-2 - Musket - Keeley TS9 - MXR EQ
Crybaby 535q - Boss DD20 - Boss CE20 - ISP Decimator - Legacy 4x12 - Peavey 112 - Mesa 112
BCKRedBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:37 PM   #6
red.guitar
Imagine All The People
 
red.guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
Quote:
Originally Posted by BCKRedBaron
olix, do you usually run yours in front of the amp, or in the fx loop?

Sorry, sheldonpardy, didn't mean to hijack your thread...


No worries man

The pedal seems to be working fine. I'll take a better look at it in a sec, just to be sure.

I use to always run my EQ through the effects loop of coupe, and in front of my vox, but lately I've been just running it in front of both amps. Mainly just because it's easier when I'm using my pedal board between home, and band practice.
__________________
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute
MIJ Contemporary Strat
Snake Pit Les Paul
MIM Fender Tele

Amps:
Jet City JCA 50H
Vox AC30CCH
Mesa Boogie 212
Randall 212+115
red.guitar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:45 PM   #7
Lavatain
5150 III Enthusiast
 
Lavatain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: England
This happens when the pedal is receiving or sending too much signal. Either you're pushing way too much power into it, or you just need to ease off the gain and volume controls. Mine works fine and only does this when I turn volume and gains up to clipping levels.
Lavatain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 07:48 PM   #8
BCKRedBaron
Registrar'd Loser
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
I'm mainly using mine as a boost over the Distortion channels on my Peavey Ultra. I used to use a TS9, but the 10-band lets me more thoroughly tweak the shape of my boost. Haven't tried it in the FX loop yet.

^Lavatain, thanks for confirming this. Since I wasn't using mine in the FX loop (where it could be receiving a too-strong input) I was unsure if that was the cause. I suppose I'll be backing my boost down a little bit now
__________________
Ibanez UV777 - Carvin TL60 & 727 - Jackson KE-3
Splawn QuickRod - Mesa Stiletto Ace - Peavey Ultra+ - Peavey Bandit
Boss BD-2 - Musket - Keeley TS9 - MXR EQ
Crybaby 535q - Boss DD20 - Boss CE20 - ISP Decimator - Legacy 4x12 - Peavey 112 - Mesa 112

Last edited by BCKRedBaron : 11-05-2012 at 07:51 PM.
BCKRedBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:14 PM   #9
ragingkitty
meow?
 
ragingkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Maybe your pedal decided it needed some bling?

Have you checked the manual? It sound say something especially if it is related to clipping or pushing too much gain.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
ragingkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:25 PM   #10
Blktiger0
The Name's Devon! ;)
 
Blktiger0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marrietta, Ohio, USA
Yeah, blinking on those means that it's clipping. If you don't have a high-output signal going into it, then maybe something is defect. They are pretty wimpy about input, though. I run mine in my effects loop, and I have the "Send" level EXTREMELY low (almost on zero) and then I have to run the return level extremely high in order to achieve unity gain. I really wonder why they have such low headroom.
Blktiger0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2012, 08:30 PM   #11
red.guitar
Imagine All The People
 
red.guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
I never thought about clipping. I really didn't think Im running that much signal in. I'll check it out tho.

I have my volume and gain set at 0. I use to run this pedal of my coupe with the gain and volume turned up a little, and I never got it to clip then,
__________________
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute
MIJ Contemporary Strat
Snake Pit Les Paul
MIM Fender Tele

Amps:
Jet City JCA 50H
Vox AC30CCH
Mesa Boogie 212
Randall 212+115
red.guitar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2012, 08:12 PM   #12
ragingkitty
meow?
 
ragingkitty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
As a rule, you should always check if an FX inputs requires a line level input or a signal level input. A line level input requires lower level signal gain than signal level inputs.

However this is odd as most guitar pedals usually use a signal level input rather than line. With the exception of some "designed for studio use pedals". In the case of these pedals they usually have a input level selector.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blompcube
it's so cool to hate Gibson, even the federal Department of Justice hates them.

( )( )
( . .) This is Bunny. Copy and paste Bunny into your
C('')('') signature to help him gain world domination.
ragingkitty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:27 AM   #13
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
my MXR 10 band died after having it for a year. i went through it but nothing appears wrong. got at it with a meter for a while and couldn't find anything. kind of a disappointment. i bought it used so i guess sometimes you get the shaft.

i haven't looked at it for probably a year, i will at some point because i am better with working on pedals and amps.
__________________
FRYETTE SIG-X
SPLAWN KT88 NITRO
SPLAWN KT88 PROMOD
MESA TREM-O-VERB
MESA MKIV...

Ibanez Prestiges
Gibsons
and Wolfgangs

WTLT
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:34 AM   #14
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
my MXR 10 band died after having it for a year. i went through it but nothing appears wrong. got at it with a meter for a while and couldn't find anything. kind of a disappointment. i bought it used so i guess sometimes you get the shaft.

i haven't looked at it for probably a year, i will at some point because i am better with working on pedals and amps.


x2. I have one that worked and now doesn't. The lights flicker just as the TS described, when playing through it hard. Never used to do that. Seems to be a common failure. I have it torn apart some where. I should dig it out and try it to out what is going on. Difficult without a schematic and a DSO. Nothing like running a signal generator into it and checking downstream until you find it. With the LEDs blinking it sounds like power supply/ground. I remember checking the incoming power and all was good. Further downstream. At least i ruled out the power supply as the culprit.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:41 AM   #15
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals
 
trashedlostfdup's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: deep south
Quote:
Originally Posted by R45VT
x2. I have one that worked and now doesn't. The lights flicker just as the TS described, when playing through it hard. Never used to do that. Seems to be a common failure. I have it torn apart some where. I should dig it out and try it to out what is going on. Difficult without a schematic and a DSO. Nothing like running a signal generator into it and checking downstream until you find it. With the LEDs blinking it sounds like power supply/ground. I remember checking the incoming power and all was good. Further downstream. At least i ruled out the power supply as the culprit.


i don't remember lights flickering, but it was a while ago. plugged in it makes a lot of noise and popping (multiple amps, cables, in fx loop and out plugged in different places and rooms and everything). used contact cleaner on all of the sliders and the jacks, which i probably will replace because they are cheap. but all of the electrical tests appear fine.
__________________
FRYETTE SIG-X
SPLAWN KT88 NITRO
SPLAWN KT88 PROMOD
MESA TREM-O-VERB
MESA MKIV...

Ibanez Prestiges
Gibsons
and Wolfgangs

WTLT
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 02:48 AM   #16
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by trashedlostfdup
i don't remember lights flickering, but it was a while ago. plugged in it makes a lot of noise and popping (multiple amps, cables, in fx loop and out plugged in different places and rooms and everything). used contact cleaner on all of the sliders and the jacks, which i probably will replace because they are cheap. but all of the electrical tests appear fine.


Yeah it pops and makes noise along with the LED flickering. Its been a while since I messed with it last. I think it had to be plugged into an amp to start to act up. Hit a chord and watch it blink. I should go find mine and set it on the work bench for this weekend.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:44 AM   #17
Cathbard
Grumpy Old Tech
 
Cathbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ragingkitty
As a rule, you should always check if an FX inputs requires a line level input or a signal level input. A line level input requires lower level signal gain than signal level inputs.

However this is odd as most guitar pedals usually use a signal level input rather than line. With the exception of some "designed for studio use pedals". In the case of these pedals they usually have a input level selector.

The MXR 10 has a gain control to sort that out.

Turn down the gain on the pedal. If flashing is clipping it will stop when you turn the gain right down won't it? That's the whole point of the gain control, it's there to optimise the signal going into the pedal so you can use it wherever you want to.
__________________
Gilchrist custom guitar
Yamaha SBG500
Telecaster
Randall RM100
Abbey Harmonic II
Marshall JTM45 clone
Marshall JCM900 4102 (modded)
Marshall 18W clone
Fender 5F1 Champ clone
Marshall 1960A
Boss GT-100


Cathbard Amplification
Cathbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 08:49 AM   #18
red.guitar
Imagine All The People
 
red.guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan
I'll try playing with the gain levels a bit, and see if that help.

Its strange, becasue when I turn the pedal off, even if my amps off, the lights still blink!

I'm gonna email dunlop and see what they have to say.
__________________
Guitars:
Gibson Les Paul 60's Tribute
MIJ Contemporary Strat
Snake Pit Les Paul
MIM Fender Tele

Amps:
Jet City JCA 50H
Vox AC30CCH
Mesa Boogie 212
Randall 212+115
red.guitar is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 07:26 PM   #19
Blktiger0
The Name's Devon! ;)
 
Blktiger0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marrietta, Ohio, USA
If you're running it in front of the amp, having the amp on or off won't effect it, and it's supposed to still blink if the pedal is off, as it's still measuring the signal running through it, and with that signal running through it, it can still clip. As long as your guitar is putting signal into it, it can clip.

If it's in the effects loop and it's blinking with the amp off, them something seems amiss.
Blktiger0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2012, 09:30 PM   #20
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blktiger0
If you're running it in front of the amp, having the amp on or off won't effect it, and it's supposed to still blink if the pedal is off, as it's still measuring the signal running through it, and with that signal running through it, it can still clip. As long as your guitar is putting signal into it, it can clip.

If it's in the effects loop and it's blinking with the amp off, them something seems amiss.



Yeah the MXR site has the blinking in the FAQ.

Regarding the blinking they say to lower the volume of the guitar or the volume of the pedal. Just an FYI to all.

It's a ****ing 18v pedal you think it could have headroom.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.

Last edited by R45VT : 11-09-2012 at 10:07 PM.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:37 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.