Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Gear Building & Customizing
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-07-2012, 01:43 AM   #1
loop-de-luke
Kickin' it....

Question DIY Resonator guitar help! Similar to Jay Turser Resonator

I'm fairly new to DIY guitars, only done a bit of guitar electronics soldering and routing etc... but I've decided to build a custom Resonator guitar from a kit I found on eBay.

The kit includes everything you need, but I will have to paint it myself and assemble it etc. It contains a mini humbucker but I'm consdering installing a filtertron instead... do filtertrons fit a 'mini humbucker' routing? Or can you get custom ones that fit (such as a TV Jones)? Would this even sound good in a resonator?

Also, for a beginner builder... is this kind of kit too advanced to have a crack at? What are the main things I'd need to take special care in the assembly of it? As in, potential irreversible damage to the kit parts?

Here is the kit:
http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/26108923...984.m1423.l2649

And here is what I want it to look like finished:
http://i934.photobucket.com/albums/...URSER/001-2.jpg

Any recommendations and suggestions would be much appreciated!
Cheers.
loop-de-luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:13 AM   #2
Captaincranky

The kit looks pretty much completely pre-fabbed to me. But then it is a tiny picture.

I think you're over thinking the difficulty, just a confidence issue really.

The one critical issue involved with a pre routed bolt on neck, is the neck angle. You may have to test fit that a few times before you get it perfect.

That said, the biggest issue you're going to face is the finishing steps. Get with a friend that knows something, (or is), an auto refinisher. Auto finishes can be instrumental in creating a fine finish on a musical instrument. After, almost all autos were, once upon a time, finished with nitro.
Captaincranky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 03:36 AM   #3