Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-07-2012, 05:48 PM   #21
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
It has the same trem anyway, if you're not bothered about using a tremolo, learn how to block it off. It's not hard, it doesn't alter the guitar in anyway, and will keep the guitar in tune.
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:01 PM   #22
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
Its not a js22r well atleast the neck isnt. the body looks the same but the neck isnt reversed and has dot inlays



JS30 then. Either way its a JS model.

Measure the spacing between the bridge mounting posts / screws, and go from there looking for a replacement.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:25 PM   #23
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
If you want a new trem, Wilkinson.
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:49 PM   #24
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps
JS30 then. Either way its a JS model.

Measure the spacing between the bridge mounting posts / screws, and go from there looking for a replacement.

From center to center or is their another way? and the three screws ? are the two?
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 06:57 PM   #25
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:03 PM   #26
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Should, yea.
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:03 PM   #27
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:08 PM   #28
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity ninja
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.

Why not? and ill ask me guitar teacher.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:13 PM   #29
jeleopard
Jackson Fanboy!
 
jeleopard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Insanity ninja
I'm pretty sure it wouldn't. If you're desperate to change it, take it to your local store, and see what they say.


Why wouldn't it?
__________________
Legion!
Original 1969 Fender Jazzmaster
Ibanez RG8
Jackson JS32R Dinky "Curry"
Schecter KM7
83 Gibson Explorer "Kimmy"
MiM Fender Jazz Bass "Pancho"
Ibanez SR485
Peavey 6505+ 112
Line 6 POD HD500
jeleopard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 07:22 PM   #30
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
http://www.guitarfetish.com/Vintage...tars_p_803.html

http://www.guitarfetish.com/Black-W...lock_p_139.html

Would either of these work? And would they stay in tune good?

I really like the Wilkinson one but the 6 screws towards the bridge, i dont have holes for that now? do i just screw into the wood?

Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 : 11-07-2012 at 07:41 PM.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:44 PM   #31
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
From center to center or is their another way?


Yes. Center to center. Will probably be metric.

All the bridges you are linking to are 6 hole style.

You need to first find what the post/screw spacing is for your bridge, then pick an appropriate bridge with 2 pivot points, not 6....

Or this will work with just about any spacing - http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-B...rats_p_375.html
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 08:54 PM   #32
Insanity ninja
UG's resident potwash.
 
Insanity ninja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Stockport
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeleopard
Why wouldn't it?

It's a totally different bridge, like Culler said, 6 screws as opposed to 2.
__________________
Silverburst
Insanity ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 09:52 PM   #33
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
IS their any chance this would work http://www.guitarfetish.com/USA-Str...stem_p_776.html

Sorry if its obvious im new to this ive upgraded every part except the bridge

and on this one where are the pivot points? http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-B...rats_p_375.html

Last edited by Iplayaguitar15 : 11-07-2012 at 09:53 PM.
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:00 PM   #34
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
IS their any chance this would work http://www.guitarfetish.com/USA-Str...stem_p_776.html

Sorry if its obvious im new to this ive upgraded every part except the bridge

The post spacing on the bridge you linked above is 2-7/32" apart.
I'm not sure how many time I have said this already.... but get a ruler, and measure the spacing of your bridge. That way you will know if it will work or not, and won't have to depend on someone else on the internet who may or may not know.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
and on this one where are the pivot points? http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-B...rats_p_375.html

It only has one set pivot point. The other side is made so that different post spacings will work. Its all in the description. That bridge would be your best option IMHO.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:04 PM   #35
Iplayaguitar15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps
The post spacing on the bridge you linked above is 2-7/32" apart.
I'm not sure how many time I have said this already.... but get a ruler, and measure the spacing of your bridge. That way you will know if it will work or not, and won't have to depend on someone else on the internet who may or may not know.


It only has one set pivot point. The other side is made so that different post spacings will work. Its all in the description. That bridge would be your best option IMHO.

Alright ill mesure when i get the chance. But if the spacing is 2-7/32 apart it will work fine? are their other requirements?
Iplayaguitar15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:06 PM   #36
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Culler Amps

Or this will work with just about any spacing - http://www.guitarfetish.com/Gloss-B...rats_p_375.html

This is a good choice
It is already s cheap bridge, I wouldn't go any cheaper IMO
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate

Last edited by Robbgnarly : 11-07-2012 at 10:07 PM.
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2012, 10:12 PM   #37
Culler Amps
Matt Culler
 
Culler Amps's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: King, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
Alright ill mesure when i get the chance. But if the spacing is 2-7/32 apart it will work fine? are their other requirements?


To be honest seeing that is a vintage USA spacing, I doubt it will work. This is why I say measure.

It has to be an exact fit. The trem pivots on those 2 points, and if it doesn't fit perfect and work smoothly, then tuning stability goes out the window.
Culler Amps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 12:09 AM   #38
Huge Guy
My muscles sure are mean!
 
Huge Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iplayaguitar15
Id rather not have a trem bar but if i have to ill deal with it


Why not just trade the guitar in for a hardtail, then?
Huge Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2012, 01:23 AM   #39
gpme332
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Getting a different type of trad trem would, IMO, not help you much. If you buy cheap you will have the same issue. The problem with traditional trems is the difficulty in keeping the guitar in tune when you use the tremolo. The better the trem the better it stays in tune but there is a reason why guitars with floyd rose trems have locking nuts. If you take off the locking nuts those don's stay in tune either.

Do you use your trem? If so do you use it both ways (high and low) or just one way? I only use my trem to do the lows so I have my trem tightened down as far as it will go. This helps my guitar stay in tune better.

If you are not adamant about getting a new trem and don't use it, the cheapest and easiest thing to do is block the trem. Once you do that the trem cannot move one way or another and you will not have tuning issues.
gpme332 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:12 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.