Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-10-2012, 12:17 PM   #1
woodery9896
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
change chords with capo

hey guys xD long time since i posted in one of these

i was just wondering, and i do this alot to help me, if for example there was a song with G, Bb and F#, can you put a capo on 3 and play the chords as E, G and D? does that work properly because i dont think its much different to barring chords

replies all welcome

woodery9896 - electro-acoustic guitar player
woodery9896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 12:32 PM   #2
Junior#1
Is SouTaicho Yamamoto-san
 
Junior#1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
It will give you the right chords, but it would help your ability a lot more to just get used to barre chords. They're quite common. Plus, if you have to go lower than where you put the capo, you're screwed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geldin
Junior's usually at least a little terse, but he knows his stuff. I've always read his posts in a grouchy grandfather voice, a grouchy grandfather with a huge stiffy for alternate picking.
Besides that, he's right this time. As usual.
Junior#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:01 PM   #3
KG6_Steven
Serving Knowledge
 
KG6_Steven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Neither here nor there.
Don't use a capo as a crutch to not learning or playing barre chords. They certainly have their place, such as when you want to have something other than the E as a droning bass note. As Junior mentioned, if you need a lower note than you have your capo set to, you're hosed. Been there and done that.
KG6_Steven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 02:02 PM   #4
the_hoodster
Registered User
 
the_hoodster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Beverley, England
If you played the D, it'd be an F not and F# but the others would be fine.
the_hoodster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 07:15 AM   #5
woodery9896
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
thanks guys, it'd take me a while but i'd get there (: practise makes perfect!

woodery9896
woodery9896 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2012, 10:44 PM   #6
Vin71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I think it's better to laern to not use a capo just my opinon on it
Vin71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:35 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.