Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-10-2012, 09:23 PM   #1
nasserliverpool

Exploring Jazz

Now I've been a blues player ever since I started playing guitar. Throughout the years, I've heard and listened to many jazz artists and at times wanted to explore the world of jazz. As soon as I start my efforts, I hit this wall of jargon and jazz terminology that just intimidates me in a musical sense. Its been a while since I heard a good jazz player until I stumbled upon this gem of a video.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zufIbIu_IxA&feature=plcp

The improv he starts at 0:42 just blows me away. There are a few questions that stem from his playing. One is what kind of jazz that improv follows and if there are any guitarists who have the same style. The second would be what recommendations the wise people of these forums have for an aspiring guitarist looking to explore the world of jazz.

Last edited by nasserliverpool : 11-11-2012 at 07:30 AM.
nasserliverpool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:16 PM   #2
FierceLikeBear

Looks and sounds like bebop or hard bop. That style is big on lots of chord changes and up tempos. Then again he may also be playing "hot jazz" or gypsy jazz look up Django Reinhardt (one of my favorites). It may be a mix of them all!

Now I'm just learning jazz right now as well but I have found that in jazz if it works and sounds good... it's good. So he very well could be playing modes over up-tempos and be-bop chords. I'm using [forbidden link] and doing the "Jazz University" lessons. It's good stuff. I'd recommend that as well as reading lesson books that work for you and if you can... find an instructor or someone that plays jazz and have them teach you. Best way to learn jazz is to listen to lots, learn all you can, and have some to help explain things to you.
FierceLikeBear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2012, 10:46 PM   #3
amonamarthmetal