Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-13-2012, 03:27 PM   #1
HazeSpace

Picking up guitar again after 1.5 years

Hello UG!

I've been playing guitar for about 6 years in total. Got around the level to play songs like Oh Sleeper - Son of the morning. But got bored playing the guitar since I couldn't find any good songs that are not too easy, not learning anything new or just out of my league. Nothing in between.

After around 1.5 years of nearly no playing I've started to pick up playing again. But I've found myself struggling playing the guitar. Lost most of my speed and strength. And having difficulties with techniques I used to master.

I'm still having difficulties finding the right songs to practice and motivate me enough to play/practice them over and over. I know I have to start back to basic and go from there to strenghten myself. But I only can think of songs that are too easy.

Anyone else that had this problem too? Or any suggestions? I find myself putting down the guitar over and over again for the same problems I stopped playing. Only now I'm worse then before. Help me UG!

Thank you beforehand!

I'm aware of the 'suggest me a song' thread. But i'm convinced this is a more diffucult problem then just hey I need a new song. If there was any other topic about the same subject I missed it (even with search)
HazeSpace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2012, 03:30 PM   #2
food1010
Bassist

You could always take more difficult songs and play them slow first. There's no secret other than easing your way into it.
Old 11-13-2012, 03:44 PM   #3
HazeSpace