Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-17-2012, 09:40 AM   #1
Jimii00

I can't play fast?

I've been playing electric guitar for 2 years now and I just can't play faster licks in solos. I'm not trying to play some out of the world solo, for example I can play first solo of Estranged, but there is no way I could play the second one. Is this a thing that just comes with playing, or should I just work on my speed (if yes, how to do it?)?

How much time did you need to play faster licks or solos?
Jimii00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 09:45 AM   #2
macashmack
Maskcashmack

Just slow down the solo to a comfortable speed and play it over and over and over again for a week and you'll be able to do it. That's seriously all there is too it. Slow it down, play it 100% accurately and relaxed, and BLAM you can do it much faster. Rinse and repeat till it's up to speed.
macashmack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:00 AM   #3
tael

Agree with above. I find that a comfortable speed is usually agonizingly slow, atleast for sweep picking and the like but it will help. I use a metronome because its harder (for me atleast) to keep time when playing extremely slow.
tael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2012, 11:34 AM   #4
TheNameOfNoone
Buckethead's Right Hand

...or just torture the shit out of your fingers with technical exercises.
Try this pattern:
|--4-2---2---------------------------------------
|-------4---4-2-4-2---2-------------------------------------
|----------------------4---4-2-4-2---2-----------------------------------
|------------------------------------4----4-2-4-2---2-----------------------------
|----------------------------------------------------4---4-2-4-2---2----------------------
|-------------------------------------------------------------------4---4-2--------------------------