Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-20-2012, 03:56 AM   #1
kaes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Question Noobie amp question incoming!

I just recently bought a Laney GH50L and Laney 2x12 cab. Having never owned a anything but a combo I'm having trouble figuring out what plugs in where.
Heres the rear:


So, simple question, which 2 jacks does the amp cable connect to?

Thanks
kaes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 04:23 AM   #2
Raijouta
Actually called Dylan
 
Raijouta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Plug the 1x16 ohm jack into the 16 ohms jack on the cabinet while the cabinet is set to mono.

Make sure you're using a speaker cable as well, using an instrument cable can damage the amplifier.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Raijouta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 07:10 AM   #3
kaes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Thanks mate. I noticed though that the amp isn't anywhere near as loud as it should be. It should be melting glass with the volume at 3, but instead its at bedroom jam levels. Any ideas?
kaes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 02:32 PM   #4
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
+1 on what raijouta said

alternatively, plug into the 4 ohm jack on the amp and on the cab (also when cab is set to mono).

tubes might be the problem, but is the amp new and under warranty? if you have warranty you don't want to be screwing about with the thing in case you void it.

and yeah, volume on 3 should be loud as ****.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:01 PM   #5
kaes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Nevermind, I found the problem, the FX Return Level knob was turned down.
On a side note, this amp sounds really nice! Especially the dirt 'channel', harmonic heaven, and when boosted with a pedal......
Heres a pic:

Last edited by kaes : 11-20-2012 at 05:06 PM.
kaes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 05:47 PM   #6
lucky1978
Blues Kazooist
 
lucky1978's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Very cool amp, HNAD!
lucky1978 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2012, 08:29 PM   #7
Dave_Mc
Chirp and Swirl
 
Dave_Mc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Northern Ireland
yeah it's awesome glad it was a simple fix and there's nothing wrong with it.

if you don't have anything in the loop you can turn the loop off. might be worth considering. it may well sound better that way (i've never got as far as turning my loop on ).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by lemurflames
I had a Blackstar. I felt like I was lied to by Chappers, that fat ****.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathbard
Blackstar can blow me; dodgey ****ers.


Dave_Mc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:08 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.