Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Closed Thread
Old 01-01-2009, 12:50 PM   #1
Tsotsi757
UG Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Virginia
Exclamation How to connect two amps?

I have a line six spider 3, and i want to connect it to a raven RG60 that i ma getting. Does anyone have any clue how to connect amps? The raven has a input in the back for it... But i have no clue what to do.

Thanks
__________________
There was only one Andres Segovia
Tsotsi757 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 12:51 PM   #2
matt92l
not a registered user....
 
matt92l's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: northern Ireland
The only way i know how to do it is with old marshall heads which have 4 input sockets and you bridge the two together, but as for these im not totally sure that you can.
__________________
American Fender Strat
1979 Marshall Superlead
Real Mccoy Wizard Wah
Robert Keeley Boss Tremolo
Euthymia Crucible Fuzz
Fulltone OCD+Deja Vibe
Line 6 DL4
Analogman BC108
Prescription C.O.B

Im a Single Coil man
matt92l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 12:52 PM   #3
YoHendrix
Registered User
 
YoHendrix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
why would you want to do that?
YoHendrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 12:52 PM   #4
Raijouta
Actually called Dylan
 
Raijouta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt92l
The only way i know how to do it is with old marshall heads which have 4 input sockets and you bridge the two together, but as for these im not totally sure that you can.


You can do it with any amp. With the Spider, since it has a Line Out, I believe you CAN just use that into the input of the Raven (I've done it before with a Spider feeding into an MG) but why would you want to do this? The tone won't be particularly stunning (in my opinion, Spiders are just 'alright' amps, neither here nor there) although it does get spectacularly distorted.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
What the hell is a G&L.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Flux'D
Gay & Lesbian I think, the box smelled funny
Greg what did you send me??
Raijouta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 12:59 PM   #5
jj1565
Officially Knighted
 
jj1565's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: NewYork ............................... Hot Chick guitahh playah ~~teh sexay
you can chain a small amp into a larger amp to use the first amps effects thru the second.

it'll sound like ass.

or you can pick up a splittter at radioshack and line out to both amps at the same time.
(cheap)

you'll be louder than before.

or you can buy a ABy box. but you might want to save for another amp, if you dont have anything you like yet.
__________________
Jenneh

Quote:
Originally Posted by TNfootballfan62
Jenny needs to sow her wild oats with random Gibsons and Taylors she picks up in bars before she settles down with a PRS.


Set up Questions? ...Q & A Thread

Recognised by the Official EG/GG&A/GB&C WTLT Lists 2011
jj1565 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 02:53 PM   #6
Tackleberry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: kentucky
The raven wasnt any sort of upgrade. The spider doesnt have a FX loop so your gonna have to use some sort of pedal to split the signal. My chorus has 2 outputs and my distortion pedal has 2 outputs. Or you need an A/B/Y box.
Tackleberry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2009, 04:13 PM   #7
al112987
UG's Shooter McGavin
 
al112987's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Why would you ever buy a Raven amp? and why would you ever want to run a spider through it?
al112987 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:38 PM   #8
manuelrocks
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
I tried connecting my 2 amps ( a Marshall 250Dfx and a Roland JC-160 ) but it didint go very well , i burned my marshall , but i managed to get it fixed , but what i really want to know is why this happened ? someone have an idea ?

Manuel Brazuna Here !
manuelrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:43 PM   #9
darkwolf291
Hookers and Blow
 
darkwolf291's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Here's what you do.
Connect a cable from the Effects loop send of the Spider, into the Effects loop Return of the Raven.
Assuming they have Effects loops that is
__________________
My Name is Frank

Pedalboard Thread Native: The Thrashaholic


Buy my Thrash Album for whatever price you want!]


Quote:
Originally Posted by PSimonR
It's modelling valve power amp output valves wearing out.



GG&A WTLT List
darkwolf291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-08-2011, 02:53 PM   #10
bubb_tubbs
UG's Grouch
 
bubb_tubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by al112987
Why would you ever buy a Raven amp? and why would you ever want to run a spider through it?

This is exactly what I was thinking.

Let's run two turds in parallel and see what we get!
__________________
Everyone is entitled to an opinion.

Feel free to express yours so I can make an informed judgement about how stupid you are.
bubb_tubbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2011, 03:04 AM   #11
Slap-happy
Registered User
 
Slap-happy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just looked up Raven amps... ewww....

But if you must, I'd go for an A/B pedal. Or if you have an effect with two out puts (stereo or wet and dry).
__________________
It's an opinion. It's subjective. And I'm right, anyway.
Slap-happy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:43 AM   #12
EdKociela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I have a Peavey Rage 238 and a Marshall 30 DFX I want to run in parallel. I chain through the aux on the Peavey to the Marshall. It sounds OK to me, but wondering if the A/B or a stereo pedal would be better to run in parallel. Go ahead and laugh, but so far, I like the sound of blending the two and the combined 55 watts is good enough for the bars I play in.
EdKociela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:44 AM   #13
darkwolf291
Hookers and Blow
 
darkwolf291's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NJ
Are you ****ing kidding me?

This thread is almost two years old dude.
__________________
My Name is Frank

Pedalboard Thread Native: The Thrashaholic


Buy my Thrash Album for whatever price you want!]


Quote:
Originally Posted by PSimonR
It's modelling valve power amp output valves wearing out.



GG&A WTLT List
darkwolf291 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 01:55 AM   #14
EdKociela
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
yeah? so? just a question...sorry for waking the dead...
EdKociela is offline   Reply With Quote
Closed Thread


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:10 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.