Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 11-24-2012, 10:44 AM   #1
clanthee
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
My Broken Amp help...



when i switch on that amp after 20-30 min. as u see that noise coming out.it looks the problem on speaker.need your comments
clanthee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:20 PM   #2
Blktiger0
The Name's Devon! ;)
 
Blktiger0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marrietta, Ohio, USA
I would say it's a microphonice tube. Open it up and give the smaller tubes a little tap with the eraser end of a pencil with no guitar plugged in. If it makes a noticable noise through the speaker, it's microphonic.
Blktiger0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:27 PM   #3
MaggaraMarine
Slapping the bass.
 
MaggaraMarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Finland
Yes, I had same kind of noise coming out of my Laney VC30. It only happened on the drive channel when I turned the volume up (volume at 1 it didn't have any noise). I changed one of the pre amp tubes and it helped.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanHB
Just rememeber that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Charvel So Cal
Ibanez Blazer
Digitech RP355
MXR Micro Chorus
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Hartke HyDrive 210c

Last edited by MaggaraMarine : 11-24-2012 at 06:14 PM.
MaggaraMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 01:49 PM   #4
Blktiger0
The Name's Devon! ;)
 
Blktiger0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Marrietta, Ohio, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by MaggaraMarine
Yes, I had same kind of noise coming out of my Laney VC30. It only happened on the drive channel when I turned the volume up (volume at 1 it didn't have any noise). I changed one of the power tubes and it helped.


You changed only ONE power tube? Did you Bias afterward? You should never change just one Power Tube, as they are matched in pairs/quads, and this is important to keep you from putting extra stress on one or running one completely cold. Generally, if you change one PT, you change them all, but you definitely change at least one pair of them. (Obiously, if your amp runs on two power tubes, you replace all of them no matter what, but if it runs on 4, you can get away with only changing two on some amps, although I see no reason why you wouldn't just replace all of them)
Blktiger0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2012, 06:13 PM   #5
MaggaraMarine
Slapping the bass.
 
MaggaraMarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Finland
^ Oops, pre amp tube, not power amp.

EDIT: Fixed.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by AlanHB
Just rememeber that there are no boring scales, just boring players.

Gear

Charvel So Cal
Ibanez Blazer
Digitech RP355
MXR Micro Chorus
Laney VC30
Tokai TB48
Hartke HyDrive 210c
MaggaraMarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:18 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.