Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-26-2012, 08:45 PM   #1
Glimpsed.AM

How long did it take you to get 'good' at sweeping

Hey everyone, before I start this is NOT one of those "Hey, how long do you all think it'll take me to get to (insert guitarist name here)'s level?" kind of threads.

Since I've joined these forums I've just been a little curious and wanna see how long it took you guys to get good at sweeping, and by good I mean speed and clarity. I started learning to sweep about 2 years ago. I can play relatively clean, but my rolling needs a little bit of work. So anyway, yeah.. How long before you guys could play cleanly and had fluid movement?
Glimpsed.AM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 08:58 PM   #2
amonamarthmetal

about 6 months

Click here if you like arpeggios
amonamarthmetal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 09:58 PM   #3
Zaphod_Beeblebr
Shallow and pedantic.

Years, but I started very early on in my playing, way before I was really ready. There are some sweeping things I still suck at, but then I also find I don't have much use for them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master Foo
A man who mistakes secrets for knowledge is like a man who, seeking light, hugs a candle so closely that he smothers it and burns his hand.

Zaphod_Beeblebr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:16 PM   #4
supersac

can do three strings sweeps pretty good but i dont really have use for anythng else in my music so i never reay practiced much more than that

Quote:
Originally Posted by whoomit
You sound like an amazing friend
i sound like one...im secretly a huge dick

my bands soundcloud
http://soundcloud.com/thenativetongues
supersac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2012, 10:17 PM   #5
troyofyort
2nd place is da 1st loser

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glimpsed.AM