Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Techniques
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 11-29-2012, 08:03 AM   #1
Miltam

How to improve at riffs?

I've been playing non-consistently for about 2/3 years and I got stuck at a point where I don't know how to improve. Chords aren't much of a problem but I don't know how to get started on scales and riffs.

How much should I practice daily and WHAT should I practice to get my fingers started for fast stuff (not metal, I hate metal)?

My skill level: Whats up (4 non blondes), Plugin baby, Hysteria, Supremacy (Muse stuff)...

Cheers.
Miltam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:40 AM   #2
Elderer
UG Member

Well you could explore and learn how blues riffs are created-Heartbreaker.

Maybe go for unorthodox riffs- prog rock bands , so called stoner rock ie QoTSA
Elderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 09:49 AM   #3
AJScott

Oh.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Miltam

How much should I practice daily and WHAT should I practice to get my fingers started for fast stuff (not metal, I hate metal)?

Quote:

get my fingers started for fast stuff (not metal, I hate metal)?

Quote:

(not metal, I hate metal)?

Quote:

I hate metal

Learn the major minor and pentatonic scales, bruv.
AJScott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 11:37 AM   #4
astholkohtz

what are the most difficult things you'd like to play some day?
astholkohtz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2012, 02:10 PM   #5
Geldin

Quote:

My skill level: Whats up (4 non blondes), Plugin baby, Hysteria, Supremacy (Muse stuff)...