Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-02-2012, 12:14 PM   #1
D3M0N1C

Help & advice needed on new guitar and amp setup!

Hi all, apologies for creating yet another which guitar thread, but I really need help!

I've been in the market for a whole new setup for a while but only just getting round to it. I started playing a few years back but due to an inferior first guitar and lack of time, I didn't get very far, then life got in the way and I stopped playing. Anyway, my point is, I did play and I did love it, so this time I don't want to make the same mistake.
I'm looking for a whole new setup and haven't really set my mind on anything just yet, but I've been looking at a fender strat or tele.
I'll give you as much information as I can and post back if I narrow it down some as I'm shopping and doing research right now, I'm trying to sort it out this week or next so I get it before xmas, any help is greatly appreciated

Budget: £1000 (For everything, Guitar, Amp, Cables, Headphones etc.)
Genres: Rock
Favorite artists: Pink Floyd, The Doors, Jimi Hendrix, The Kooks, Razorlight, Guns n Roses, Smashing Pumpkins, Audioslave.
New or used: Preferably new.
Home or gig: Home/Home Studio

Old equipment: Maverick X1 Guitar, Laney CK30 Amp, Boss ME20 Effects. (Hated them both, Amp sounded awful and the guitar was bulky and felt too long, also never stayed in tune).

My thoughts so far: Don't like floyd rose tremolo, (or at least not the one on the Maverick).
I'm looking into the Fender Blacktops and would like something with good playability.

Thanks in advance, Dom.

Last edited by D3M0N1C : 12-02-2012 at 12:31 PM.
D3M0N1C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2012, 01:23 PM   #2
dannyalcatraz

1) between 45-60% of your budget should go into your amp: its the biggest factor in determining your sound's quality and tone.