Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-04-2012, 01:14 AM   #1
XplodeHeadz

Is it worth it?

Hey guys! I'm new here and I'm also new at guitar. I'm 13 and only played for a few mOnths. Mostly acoustic, but some electric at school. Mostly electric for the past month. But I'm planning on getting a new electric guitar. Please tell me your honest opinion. Im more into the Gun's N Roses, Slash kind of guitar playing. And I want a Epiphone les Paul. At guitar center for 250 bucks you can get a Epiphone les Paul Special II, an electar 15 watt amp, cable, bag, picks and a strap. Or the same bundle for 199 but with a 10 watt amp instead. Which one is the better deal? Are they worth it? And since I like that fast rock, would a strat be better for me then a les paul. But I don't really like the "feel" Of a strat (I play one at school) thanks for your help and If you recommend something else can you tell me.
XplodeHeadz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:22 AM   #2
trashedlostfdup
land of white cannibals

in all honesty, starter packs look like a good deal, but they sacrifice on everything to get the lower price.

the LP Special II is very subpar, you would likely outgrow the amps in less than a year, they just aren't that great sounding amp.

what i would do if i were you would be to look used ( used.guitarcenter.com ) they still have a 30 warranty and exchange. you can make your money go a lot farther.

what is your maximun budget?

what gear do you have if any?

i know you said you like slash, what other artists/bands do you like?

gas list:
Strymon Mobius
Diamond Compressor
Musket Fuzz
and a few guitars
trashedlostfdup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 01:28 AM   #3
XplodeHeadz