Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-04-2012, 04:54 PM   #1
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Focusrite Scarlett 2i4

So, it's $200 on MusiciansFriend for this baby. Anyone know where I can get it for less than $150?

Also, I'm assuming that these (circle below) are indeed instrument inputs? Meaning I won't need an adapter to plug into this thing?



I'd like to get one of these babies to record vocals, guitar, and bass long-term. I have a Guitar Link, which works ok for recording rough demos. I've a feeling it'll sound a LOT better with one of these babies though...
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld

Last edited by crazysam23_Atax : 12-04-2012 at 05:08 PM.
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:08 PM   #2
MatrixClaw
UG God
 
MatrixClaw's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Climbin In Yo Window, Snatchin Yo People Up
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazysam23_Atax
So, it's $200 on MusiciansFriend for this baby. Anyone know where I can get it for less than $150?

Also, I'm assuming that these (circle below) are indeed instrument inputs?



I'd like to get one of these babies to record vocals, guitar, and bass long-term. I have a Guitar Link, which works ok for recording rough demos. I've a feeling it'll sound a LOT better with one of these babies though...

No, those are balanced 1/4" outputs, for your monitors.

There are two instrument inputs on the front (the XLR jacks are combo XLR and 1/4" jacks).
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave_Mc
I've had tube amps for a while now, but never actually had any go down on me
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj1565
maybe you're not saying the right things? an amp likes to know you care.





www.SanctityStudios.com
MatrixClaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 05:47 PM   #3
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by MatrixClaw
No, those are balanced 1/4" outputs, for your monitors.

There are two instrument inputs on the front (the XLR jacks are combo XLR and 1/4" jacks).

Ah, ok...that makes sense.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:06 PM   #4
Danjo's Guitar
UG's Math/Physics Major
 
Danjo's Guitar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Socorro, NM (aka New Mexico Tech)
You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Trowzaa
what specs is your pc? like how much ram?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hydra150


Quote:
Originally Posted by eGraham
3 ram, nice

Danjo's Guitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 07:36 PM   #5
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo's Guitar
You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.

No, no, no, no...

I'll be connecting my electric guitar and my bass guitar to the Scarlett (and then from there to my PC's USB port), and then running several VSTs in Reaper. I'll probably mic my acoustic guitar. I may, at some point, use it to record my keyboard as well. For right now, I'm recording with Guitar Link (not the best, but it was $10).


Anyway, I may just buy this baby:

Found it on eBay for $130 (plus free standard shipping), which is like $80 less than it's listed new.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 09:41 PM   #6
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Go for it, the Saffire 6's are just the old Scarlett 2i4's and they're still supported. Hell, they already have drivers for Windows 8 so I'd think that baby's gonna be around a while.
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2012, 10:02 PM   #7
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
Go for it, the Saffire 6's are just the old Scarlett 2i4's and they're still supported. Hell, they already have drivers for Windows 8 so I'd think that baby's gonna be around a while.

Well, I just didn't want to pay for a new one, but really I figured out that basically all Scarlett 2i6's I was finding were new. Used but in good condition suits me just fine.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 09:50 AM   #8
ChemicalFire
King of Bacon Pancakes
 
ChemicalFire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: The United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danjo's Guitar
You aren't planning on running your amp into it or anything right? That won't work. The instrument inputs are for an electric guitar straight it, an acoustic guitar in, or like a keyboard or something. Otherwise you'll have to mic it.


This is BS just as a heads up.

I've run a dummy load out of my speaker expansion on my Blackstar and DI'd it directly into my interface. I obviously ran some IR's in post.

Works fine, you just gotta make sure you keep voltages working right.
__________________
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself



Quote:
Originally Posted by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
ChemicalFire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2012, 10:37 AM   #9
crazysam23_Atax
Burning away
 
crazysam23_Atax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Cal-eye-forn-ia
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChemicalFire
This is BS just as a heads up.

I've run a dummy load out of my speaker expansion on my Blackstar and DI'd it directly into my interface. I obviously ran some IR's in post.

Works fine, you just gotta make sure you keep voltages working right.

I figured it would. Only thing is, my amp's line-in is terrible.

I pretty much figured out how to get a better sound of out VSTs than my crappy practice amp anyway.
__________________
Tunes?

Bandcamp

Now working on my upcoming EP "Discarnate". See the expected track list on my bandcamp.



Terry Prachett is funnier than you! Discworld
crazysam23_Atax is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:17 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.