Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-11-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
YYMMalmsteen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
DL8 Delay Pedal sounds wrong

I have a Digitech Hardwire DL8 (a delay pedal). When I use it on clean through my valve amp it sounds great.

But when I turn the distortion on and I play licks with the pedal, the delayed notes seem to clash with the first notes. Instead of having the first set of notes and the delayed ones played perfectly clear and separately, the notes swallow each other up and a horrible, screaming sound comes out of the amp. I don't know how to fix this. Can it be that the pedal is faulty? Or is there something I do not knwo about delay pedals?

The only "solution" I've come up with is: -turn delay level down
-turn gain WAY down

but that's no good. I want to be able to turn the pedal ON with high gain and still sound good

... thanks
YYMMalmsteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:27 AM   #2
zl1288
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Does your amp have an effects loop? Putting the delay in the loop may help a bit.

It also sounds like you may have the repeats on your delay set high, try lowering them along with the level. You may also want to try shortening your delay times a bit as well.
zl1288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:30 AM   #3
YYMMalmsteen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl1288
Does your amp have an effects loop? Putting the delay in the loop may help a bit.

It also sounds like you may have the repeats on your delay set high, try lowering them along with the level. You may also want to try shortening your delay times a bit as well.



I have a Peavy Valveking 112. An entrance area says EFFECTS

-send
-return

Nope, repeats and time are actually set at minimum
Does My amp have an efects loop? if so, how does it work?
YYMMalmsteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:44 AM   #4
zl1288
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Yes, your amp has a loop. The send jack sends the signal to any pedals you want in the loop, the return jack takes the signal back to the amp. So just plug into your amp normally, and put the DL8 into the loop like this: Send>DL8 input||DL8 output>Return
zl1288 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 10:54 AM   #5
YYMMalmsteen
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl1288
Does your amp have an effects loop? Putting the delay in the loop may help a bit.

It also sounds like you may have the repeats on your delay set high, try lowering them along with the level. You may also want to try shortening your delay times a bit as well.



SORTED! sound epic thanks
shame I have to use 3 bloody jacks tho!
YYMMalmsteen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2012, 11:04 AM   #6
Wesbanez
Registered Abuser
 
Wesbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East Anglia, UK
Great pedal, I have one on my pedal board. It has 2 inputs and 2 outputs so you can run it pretty much every way you want, at the same time.

I have mine in the loop and in front of the amp in my standard pre-amplifier chain. Its linked into the pre-amplifier chain by a true bypass switch box so I can use that and the amps footswitch (the FX loop switch specifically) to bring it in and out of each chain as I like
Wesbanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:19 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.