Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Musician Talk
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-08-2012, 04:04 AM   #1
alexb_vss

Best Way To Learn About Music?

I have played guitar for a couple of years but I would only consider myself in the beginner stage. I only learn a few songs here and there and don't really produce any music of my own. I would like this to change and learn how to read music and also learn many of the different chords, scales, etc.

My question basically is what is the best way to learn music theory (i do plan on taking a guitar class to help me with reading the notes and understanding timing, etc.) and are there any books that may help me with my adventure into music haha

P.S. sorry if I post in the wrong field, or if what I want to learn isn't what I'm calling it, I'm only learning!
alexb_vss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 07:00 AM   #2
Shornifier
Shornifier

Take a class; find a tutor! That's how I got into music school. I don't recommend teaching yourself though, it's a really grueling subject. Some people are into it, but I fell asleep so many times haha.
Old 12-08-2012, 01:41 PM   #3
alexb_vss

Alright cool I think that's the way I'm going to go, thanks a lot!
Old 12-09-2012, 10:25 AM   #4
Shornifier
Shornifier

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexb_vss
Alright cool I think that's the way I'm going to go, thanks a lot!

No problemo dude; theory is funky hard but it really does help your understanding of music. You start to see what you're actually doing instead of just doing it! Pretty cool.
Old 12-09-2012, 11:09 AM   #5
Hail
kill both bass players

learn lots of music by ear.