Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-13-2012, 05:12 AM   #1
Tunder250
Registered User
 
Tunder250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Holland
Trading my TriAmp ( hidden "what amp" to pick )

Hello UG,

I been offered to trade my TriAmp MK1 ( the version without lights ) for a Marshall JVM410h.

Will this be the right amp for me?

I love the 3rd channel of my TriAmp for KSE-like sounds... but it lacks a bit of gain / tone when i try to play stuff like parkway drive, as i lay dying & heavenshallburn.

Will the Marshall be able to do that kind of stuff?

yes, i love the fearedse video about the amp on youtube. And i do love that tubetone pirate playing through this amp..

TL;DR: is the Marshall JVM410H SUITABLE FOR KSE-kind of metal as well as heavenshallburn-ish kind of metal? Or what amp to i have to try? ( I know ENGL's can do the trick, but i can't afford them yet )

Thanks in advance,

Tunder
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroGunslinger
using nines for drop C# is like stringing the guitar with spaghetti


My Colourful Rig:
ESP M-ii Deluxe
ENGL E570
Mesa/Boogie Simul 295 Stereo
Framus FR212 v30

Last edited by Tunder250 : 12-13-2012 at 05:14 AM.
Tunder250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:41 AM   #2
nickdohle
Let's a go Mario!
 
nickdohle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
6505???

I know the JVMs have buttloads of gain on tap but Ive never played one. I imagine with a OD it should be fine.
nickdohle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 05:47 AM   #3
Tunder250
Registered User
 
Tunder250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickdohle
6505???

I know the JVMs have buttloads of gain on tap but Ive never played one. I imagine with a OD it should be fine.


I HATED the 6505 when i played it...

I already bought an OD to tighten it up
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroGunslinger
using nines for drop C# is like stringing the guitar with spaghetti


My Colourful Rig:
ESP M-ii Deluxe
ENGL E570
Mesa/Boogie Simul 295 Stereo
Framus FR212 v30
Tunder250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:22 AM   #4
ihartfood
Potato Faced Blind Man
 
ihartfood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Texas
Yes it will do the trick. but I suggest you try one first. they are an acquired taste.
__________________
My Rig
Like Telecasters?
ihartfood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 10:21 PM   #5
311ZOSOVHJH
G G & A - B A B Y
 
311ZOSOVHJH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Offline
^ +1 defo an acquired taste

i've played it on many occasions and it still tastes like shit in my mouth


Tunder - you know we roll around here. Get your grove OP on will ya?
__________________
311ZOSOVHJH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:16 PM   #6
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
man, trading a H&K triamp cuz it doesn't have enough gain? that is a pretty killer amp.

i'd personally feel a triamp for a JVM410 is kind of a downgrade, but if you want to trade then i'd at least try the JVM410 out before considering the trade.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 11:22 PM   #7
Ippon
Amped
 
Ippon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Left Coast
Quote:
Originally Posted by gumbilicious
man, trading a H&K triamp cuz it doesn't have enough gain? that is a pretty killer amp.

i'd personally feel a triamp for a JVM410 is kind of a downgrade, but if you want to trade then i'd at least try the JVM410 out before considering the trade.

+311
__________________
Who To Listen To EG/GG&A and GB&C .. 7/ERG Field Marshall .. e-peen
Ippon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 04:59 AM   #8
Tunder250
Registered User
 
Tunder250's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Holland
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihartfood
Yes it will do the trick. but I suggest you try one first. they are an acquired taste.


I will defo test one out!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 311ZOSOVHJH
Tunder - you know we roll around here. Get your grove OP on will ya?


That's the only problem, i don't really have a budget to spend, only my H&K.. Also I loved the ENGL PB, but the people doesn't want to trade me

No one wants to buy a H&K around here, only got offers like 300..

Quote:
Originally Posted by gumbilicious
man, trading a H&K triamp cuz it doesn't have enough gain? that is a pretty killer amp.

i'd personally feel a triamp for a JVM410 is kind of a downgrade, but if you want to trade then i'd at least try the JVM410 out before considering the trade.


It has enough gain, but i can't find the right tone for the bands i mentioned.
I definately love the amp for KSE stuff, don't get me wrong.

But i don't have the money to buy another amp...


Thanks a lot for all replies, i really appreciate it

You guys are the best!!!!
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroGunslinger
using nines for drop C# is like stringing the guitar with spaghetti


My Colourful Rig:
ESP M-ii Deluxe
ENGL E570
Mesa/Boogie Simul 295 Stereo
Framus FR212 v30
Tunder250 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:08 AM   #9
Robbgnarly
Registered User
 
Robbgnarly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: NSB, FL
Have you tried an EQ pedal in the FX loop? that will help you shape your tone. Another thing to consider is a BBE Sonic maximizer, they make one in a pedal style called the Sonnic Stomp.

I personaly don't care for the JVM amps, I'll take a Boosted DSL over the JVM any day.
__________________
2002 PRS CE22
2013 G&L ASAT Deluxe
2009 Epiphone G-400 (SH-4)
Marshall JCM2000 DSL100
Krank 1980 Jr 20watt
Krank Rev 4x12 (eminence V12)
GFS Greenie/Digitech Bad Monkey
Morley Bad Horsie 2
MXR Smart Gate
Robbgnarly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:12 AM   #10
Wesbanez
Registered Abuser
 
Wesbanez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: East Anglia, UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbgnarly
Have you tried an EQ pedal in the FX loop?


Huge +1

I have a modded Boss GE-7 in my loop and can pretty much dial in anything I like.
Wesbanez is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:16 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.