Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Electric Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-14-2012, 09:37 PM   #1
keks_

Question Which to buy: Les Paul Special II or Squier Standard Strat?

Beginner here, as you can tell form the guitar selection. I don't want to spend a lot of money, but I have a burning desire to start playing. If I get hooked I'll spend a few thousand on my next guitar but for now this will just be something to play around with.

Which would you buy and why:

Squier Standard Stratocaster Left-Handed Electric Guitar Antique Burst ($225)

or

Epiphone Les Paul Special II Left-Handed Electric Guitar Heritage Cherry Sunburst ($185)

or what else would you recommend?

Music I love, and will try to learn: My Chemical Romance, John Mayer, Boys Like Girls, Oasis, Metallica.

Also, what is the best software to connect the guitar to a computer and play around with effects? Is it possible to get close to the John Mayer sound using software?

Thanks for helping a lefty. I am not looking to buy an amp, I just want to plug into a computer and listen through headphones or record.
keks_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 09:53 PM   #2
racertj5
Wannabe Guitar God

I am pretty sure Ibanez make some left handed gio models. Some people will tell you they aren't as good but as long as you get a hard tail bridge (no wammy bar) they are amazing guitars for the price. Yamaha Pacificas also get amazing reviews around here
Peavey VYPYR 15.
Mitchell Acoustic M0100
Johnson Acoustic JG 100
racertj5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:09 PM   #3
keks_

Thanks!

What about those two guitars I posted? How do they compare?
Old 12-14-2012, 10:14 PM   #4
halfj06

Standard series squires are pretty solid... step up from the affinity series and that les paul your looking at
halfj06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 10:14 PM   #5
racertj5
Wannabe Guitar God