Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-22-2012, 03:35 PM   #1
rXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Question No sound : Scarlett 8i6 & Ableton

Hello,

I just got my Focusrite Scarlett 8i6, I set it up and launched the Scarlett Mixcontrol, I tried it in "Zero latency" mod : nothing fancy but it work perfectly.
Then I install Ableton Live 8 and set it up :
Audio : ASIO and Scarlett 8i6
Input : 1,2,3,4 Mono
Output : 1,2,3,4 Mono & 1/2,3/4 Stereo
The Sample rate is correct etc...

Then I go into the mixcontrol and tell to it to rout Daw 1/2 to the headphone output and nothing happens.
In Ableton I set my input at 1 mono
My output at 1/2 stereo (Daw 1 and 2), the issue is that Ableton doesn't seem to get my guitar sound and I don't know why since the mixcontrol does and the input is the same.
Does any of you has an idea ?

Best regards,

rXp>!<
rXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:30 PM   #2
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
The headphone outs on the Focusrite Interfaces are quirky. Turn up both the main output volume & the headphone volume.

In mixcontrol, do you see the input meter go up and down when you play?
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 04:40 PM   #3
rXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
No I don't. Those ouput works but when I go trough Ableton the Daw input in mixcontrol doesn't seem to get any signal and the guitar input in Ableton neither but the guitar input in mixcontrol does.
rXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 07:12 PM   #4
saberrocks
SaberMaidenfan
 
saberrocks's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: I ain't gonna tell ya
Are you using Windows? Then maybe you should try to disable any other recording devices in 'Sounds'. I also had major troubles with that while setting up my Alesis MultiMix to MagixMusicMaker. Fixed now
saberrocks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 08:21 PM   #5
rXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Yes I am on Windows. I tried to disable everything exept the Scarlett but no change. Ableton don't get anything :/
rXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:28 PM   #6
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Have you downloaded the newest drivers?

It sounds like the interface works since mixcontrol is showing levels. It sounds like a problem with Ableton.
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:31 PM   #7
rXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I have all the lastest versions. I tried it with a trial version of Pro Tools and pro tools can't even start it says that "the selected asio audio device could not be initialized".
Just getting better and better :/
rXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2012, 09:37 PM   #8
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Contact Focusrite Support and do some Googling. Sadly, this sounds like something beyond what most of us have had to deal with
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 12:54 PM   #9
rXp
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
I fixed it and it was hard.
First I tried everything on my other computer and it worked right away.
So I went back to the first computer uninstalled everything again AND deleted every last bit of byte manually it was long :/
After the cleaning reinstalled everything in the same order I did on the other computer and voila ! It works now but why ? I have no idea.

rXp>!<
rXp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 08:13 PM   #10
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
I would guess there was either something running in the background you didn't know about which was uninstalled and so stopped running. That or the driver installation didn't work properly.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.