Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Bass Guitar
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-21-2012, 11:52 AM   #1
coco-loco
UG's Only Ghoulscout

Smile Bass Amp Help!

Okay, I'm going to be honest with you all-I've been playing with a shitty combo amp for the last 3 years on bass (different amp, but similar model on guitar for 4 years!), and it's definitely time for an upgrade. I think I'm more certain in what I want in regards to the bass amps though.

Now, what I want to know, is if these are a suitable match, your opinions on it, and basically CAN I do this? I'm a noob, so I beg you not to bash me...I'd just really love to know, before I blow my money on some stuff that's basically not a good idea/not going to work.

I'm looking at getting a Fender 610 PRO Cabinet and an Ampeg SVT 3 Pro Bass Head. I don't know what the deal is with using two different types of heads and/or cabs in the same rig, so I plead you to tell me what I should know.

Many many thanks to you all, I look forward to reading your responses.

EDIT: Here are some specs and details about what I'm looking at if it helps:

http://www.fender.com/en-AU/products/610-pro-cabinet/

http://www.ampeg.com/products/pro/svt3pro/index.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kind, Non-Existant User
Coco-Loco is the finest bit of meat on the butcher block.

Last edited by coco-loco : 12-21-2012 at 11:53 AM.
coco-loco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 01:34 PM   #2
jthm_guitarist
"funny" but "unmemorable"

It's all about ohms and watts. Your cab must exceed the power rating (watts) of your amp and must match the impedance rating (ohms).

In your case,
your amp is 450 watts at 4 ohms
your cab is 800 watts at 4 ohms

So you're good to go!

show
jthm_guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 04:11 PM   #3
FatalGear41
Battle Beagle!

That should make for a pretty cool rig.

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregs1020