Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > The Pit
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-23-2012, 05:06 AM   #1
jesse music

University: Taking units in other disciplines vs. Adding more to your field of study

Hi all, I'm studying a bachelor of music composition, but lately I've been considering adding a minor in something like philosophy or english literature.

Would it be wiser to enlarge my field of Uni study while not doing as many composition units as I could or to focus solely on completing as many units relevant to composition as possible (as I would like to work somewhere in this field, teaching, arranging, composing, etc) such as orchestration, music business, music technology or whatever.

I'd be interested just to hear your opinions, thanks
jesse music is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:09 AM   #2
MH400
‭‭

Do a real degree. Such as Law.

/I'm a Law student.
MH400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:10 AM   #3
rockingamer2
Larmarky Remark

Instead of going all into composing, take some time to make sure you meet the right people, make good impressions and all that networking jazz. You could in something that can compliment to your composition major or in something that just interests you.

EDIT: This is a weird bit of info, but if you want to a music oriented minor, organ studies is a good one, although that program isn't seen too often. Being an organ player is a pretty decent gig.

"To know the truth of history is to realize its ultimate myth and its inevitable ambiguity."

MUSIC THEORY LINK

SteamID: CarrionComfort

Last edited by rockingamer2 : 12-23-2012 at 05:13 AM.
rockingamer2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 05:13 AM   #4
hriday_hazarika
is a Space Lion. ^___^

Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse music
a minor in something like philosophy or english literature.

Don't ever study English literature; it's bullshit.

Philosophy probably is too.