Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-23-2012, 10:50 PM   #1
Lefty Guitarist
Registered User
 
Lefty Guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Questions regarding amp/cab impedance

Whats up guys? I have a peavey xxx combo amp which operates at 16 ohms. I want to get a recto 4x12 cab and hook it up to that. The recto cab looks like it operates at 4 or 8 ohms. Now the peavey says 16 ohms minimum, so if I'm thinking right I can't hook it up to that cab.

So my question is, could I rewire the cab's speakers to operate at 16 ohms? Would I lose any sound quality in doing this?
Lefty Guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2012, 11:26 PM   #2
R45VT
Doesn't speak guitar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Traffic Town LA
There is no switch to change impedance or different output plug? Most combos will at least still have the option between 8 and 16.


If there is not you really should get a 16ohm cab.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeathByDestroyr
See, it's important that people clarify when they say "metal", because I pretty much always assume they are a Cannibal Corpse fanboi.
R45VT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 01:49 PM   #3
woad_yurt
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
You may be able to rewire the cab to get it 16 ohms but you need to know what impedance speakers are in there first.
woad_yurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 02:03 PM   #4
gumbilicious
beginner
 
gumbilicious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: on the road... again
^if the mesa is 8 ohms (which is generally the case with mesa) then it is almost certain it uses 8 ohms speakers hooked in series-parallel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty Guitarist
Whats up guys? I have a peavey xxx combo amp which operates at 16 ohms. I want to get a recto 4x12 cab and hook it up to that. The recto cab looks like it operates at 4 or 8 ohms. Now the peavey says 16 ohms minimum, so if I'm thinking right I can't hook it up to that cab.


looks like the xxx combo has an impedance selector



what you'd have to do is make sure the amp is off, set the amp to 8 ohm operation, unplug the native speaker of the combo and then plug the mesa cab into the speaker out.

you won't be able to get a desirable impedance using the 16 ohm native speaker and the 8 ohm mesa cab.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lefty Guitarist
So my question is, could I rewire the cab's speakers to operate at 16 ohms? Would I lose any sound quality in doing this?


no, it's not possible to make a 16 ohm cab with 8 ohm speakers in a 4x12.
__________________
punk isn't dead, it's always smelled that way.

"A perfection of means, and confusion of aims, seems to be our main problem."
-ae

Last edited by gumbilicious : 12-24-2012 at 02:04 PM.
gumbilicious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2012, 09:10 PM   #5
Lefty Guitarist
Registered User
 
Lefty Guitarist's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Wow, well i have the 1x12 combo so looks like no mesa cab for me.
Lefty Guitarist is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:12 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.