Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > UG Community > New Members Q&A Forum
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-30-2012, 09:16 PM   #1
Bradojo1400

Noob's First Question, help is appreciated!

Heyy UG community, this is my first post/thread/thing on the site.
Im an aspiring musician teen whom enjoys to play piano and guitar, and to compose and play around with Garageband in my free time ( which there isn't a lot of because of school and hellwork) Anyways, I have a question about recording electric guitar.

So Garageband gives you all different kinds of amps, tone pedals and such for electric guitar. I have a Tascam interface driver thing and so Ive plugged my electric guitar through it and have used it to record random riffs and pieces in the past but i always notice this:

The sound quality is always horrible!

Like, it sounds like just a really crappy amp is being used when i record my guitar. Im always trying to get a distorted rock sound. Like the regular modern rock or pop rocks sound you hear these days, not like hard metal sounds or anything, but all the amps and garageband effects are really bad quality and unclear.

My question is, how do well-known bands and musicians or just other everyday music enthusiast get such good electric guitar sound?

Does my driver suck? Do they record by playing through their amp into a mic?

I just want to know how to get a professional sound, clear distortion electric guitar, if that makes sense :P

Lol once again im new to this whole site really so i hope i was sorta clear enough, any help is very much appreciatedd!! i hope someone responds, thanks

Brad

Last edited by Bradojo1400 : 12-30-2012 at 09:23 PM.
Bradojo1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2012, 09:38 PM   #2
yoyoloto
Blue dreams

Dude, wrong forum. This is Q&A for new members about the forum itself, not music. You want to ask that in the ''guitar gear'' forum, which discusses amps, interfaces, recording etc...