Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Instruments > Guitar Gear & Accessories
User Name  
Password
Search:

Old 12-31-2012, 01:23 AM   #1
Sezan

Pre-owned practice-amp dilemma.

Blues Junior vs Blackstar HT1R vs Blackstar HT1R

I'm in the market for a new practice amp and have the option of buying a used Blues Junior (15 watts) or a Blackstar HT1R (1watt). I am not a gigging musician but I would like a decent amp for home use. Both amps are preowned and both seem to be in really good condition but I can't decide which to get. My Fender Mustang II is becoming a bit of a let down-I like the clean sounds but the overdriven modelling options sound really synthetic to my ears.

I don't want to annoy the neighbours but, at the same time, I want to be able to rock out now and again on a Saturday afternoon. I am concerned the the Blackstar HT1R might be just too quiet for me while the Blues Jr (which is much more appealing to me) might be too loud. I have played the Blackstar and liked it as far as the dirtier tones went but didn't think much of the cleans-but then again I'd have the Mustang for that. The Blackstar did however sound a bit small. I have only heard the Blues Jr on Youtube.

My question boils down to this:

Will the 1 watt be too quiet and tinny?

Will the Blues Junior be too loud if I try and get dirtier tones and therefore a waste of money as it won't be used to its full potential or is it tameable for home use.

Which amp, in a bedroom setting, will give me the best tones and which is more versatile?

I am unlikely to be gigging anytime soon so I don't really need the extra wattage of the Blues Junior-it's more of a question of tone, versatility and cost but at the same time, on Youtube at least, it seems to have a certain something, maybe "soul", that the Blackstar doesn't.