Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 01-02-2013, 02:43 AM   #21
chatterbox272
Registered User
 
chatterbox272's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalcade
He's not asking for a completely digital rig; it sounds like he's using a real pedal and amp, then running the amp output directly into the computer, which means all he needs is a cab sim (since the amp output bypasses the actual cabinet)

Ah, my bad. Generally it's better to go full digital than trying to use line outs and stuff (IMO anyway) but whatever.

In that case, you can skip the amp sim itself, because you have an actual amp doing that. So just go straight into an impulse loader like LeCab or keFIR, and use that to load up an impulse response like the RedWirez Marshall 1960A or Catharsis.
__________________
Masquerade: #19


Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael J. Caboose
Time isn't made out of lines, it is made out of circles. That is why clocks are round.
chatterbox272 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:06 PM   #22
Cavalcade
Days, I feel it...
 
Cavalcade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradojo1400
Yea so Calvalcade, just to be clear, how I have been recording, for example, the sample I have on my profile, is recorded through my driver. Im not doing anything with my amp, pedal and then playing into an external mic. Its just my guitar, driver, and mac It seems to me you really know what youre talking about and i just want to make sure that you know my situation correctly because i dont how to show ideas properly

And yes i may be confusing.

All right then; there's definitely some kind of distortion afterwards, I'd assume that's a GB plugin, in which case you'll probably want amp/cab sims after that.
__________________
If you're reading this, it means UG still has this, but not a :sam: smiley.
Cavalcade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:25 PM   #23
lockwolf
Recording's AdBot/Dick
 
lockwolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lynnwood, WA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradojo1400
I'm always striving to get a distorted guitar sound, like todays modern and alternative rock, but I don't want horrible quality. I want it to sound like you would hear on a pro band's CD. Is that possible? How can I get the best guitar sound?


How much are you willing to spend? I'm assuming by most bands, you mean what I'd hear if I turned on the Radio. Typically, you're looking at a decent guitar going into a several thousand dollar tube amp with a very nice speaker cab mic'd by multiple mics including a SM57, various condensers or a ribbon mic. Then, from there, going into either a $50,000+ recording console or through various $3,000+ channel strips. Usually, they're using Pro Tools HD as their DAW of choice which is another $5,000-$20,000.

Not to be a complete dick but there's no real way to get that good of a sound without spending a serious amount of cash. Its possible to get a good sound but I haven't heard Pro Quality without a decent signal chain.

That being said:

Quote:
So I have a driver thing, I have a Mac, I have GarageBand, I have an electric guitar (duh), I have a distortion pedal, I have an amp, and I have an external plug-in mic.


What the hell do you mean by driver thing?
__________________
Derpy Derp Derp Herp Derp
lockwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 01:34 PM   #24
Bradojo1400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cavalcade
All right then; there's definitely some kind of distortion afterwards, I'd assume that's a GB plugin, in which case you'll probably want amp/cab sims after that.


Yea, I had the "Punk rock" virtual amp on when I recorded that sample earlier. When recording, should I not use any GB amps and just use downloaded amp/cab sims?
Bradojo1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 01:39 PM   #25
Bradojo1400
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by lockwolf
Not to be a complete dick but there's no real way to get that good of a sound without spending a serious amount of cash. Its possible to get a good sound but I haven't heard Pro Quality without a decent signal chain.

That being said:

What the hell do you mean by driver thing?


Yea, I realized that, but I just think there has to be a way I can just somewhat improve the sound I have right now.

And its a Tascam US-122mkII Audio/Midi Interface what I have. Little unit I plug guitar through and into mac. The driver I downloaded along with it
Bradojo1400 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:10 PM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.