Go Back   UG Community @ Ultimate-Guitar.Com > Music > Recordings
User Name  
Password
Search:

Reply
Old 12-08-2014, 05:43 PM   #1
lp4lifessamberl
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
crackles and spikes

Im using guitar rig and revalver because im in between amps. I just got a focusrite Scarlett solo and everything sounded great and now when i have my guitar muted i hear lot of crackle and pops. I have triedadjusting the buffer size, ch a nging cables and optimize my laptop and its still there. Any suggestions?
lp4lifessamberl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2014, 06:40 PM   #2
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
What are you recording with?

Try disabling effects and adjust signal volume that way, then bring in your modeling software and try adjusting levels from there.

Are you suing active guitar? If you are try lowering the volume some and see if crackles are still there.

Usually I find these crackling artifacts when the software can't handle processing the sound for some reason, i.e. not enough computer memory, wrong drivers, or just plain latency.

What about recording, do you hear the crackles in the recorded material?
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 08:40 AM   #3
Spambot_2
UG's redhead
 
Spambot_2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Italy
May be the cables.
Can you try different ones?
__________________
Name's Luca.
worthwhile quotes, because quote boxes occupy too much space
Spambot_2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2014, 12:51 PM   #4
Sid McCall
(Actually, I'm Scott)
 
Sid McCall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Nashville, TN
How many plugins are you running? What's your computer's processor and RAM? This really sounds like you're overloading the CPU. What fidelity are you recording at? 44.1? 48? Higher? You might have things set unrealistically high for what you need and your computer is getting bogged down.
__________________
Telecaster - SG - Jaguar
Princeton Reverb, Extra Reverb
P-Bass - Mustang Bass
Apogee Duet 2 - Ableton Suite
Sid McCall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 03:56 AM   #5
KevinGoetz
Mute Prophet Guitarist
 
KevinGoetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Some Scarlett interfaces have issues with USB 3.0 ports - the 2i2 this is a confirmed issue, but I'm not sure about the Solo. If you're using a 3.0, try switching over to a 2.0 and see what happens. Also try disabling all other audio devices - HDMI out, realtek, etc. - certain builds of certain operating systems tend to throw tantrums over multiple enabled devices.
__________________
http://www.youtube.com/MuteProphetBand
Check out my channel for lessons on prog metal, jazz fusion, songwriting and audio engineering.
KevinGoetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2014, 03:05 PM   #6
diabolical
Registered User
 
diabolical's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Houston, TX
I'll throw that since it was an issue with Presonus products that run on usb2, in some cases there was incompatibility with some laptops so usb3 had to be disabled from the mobo settings. Just in case we exhaust the other options, that might be the case here as well.
diabolical is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:10 AM.

Forum Archives / About / Terms of Use / Advertise / Contact / Ultimate-Guitar.Com © 2014
Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.